Is this decent? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2005, 06:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default Is this Decent?

Im thinking of buying the Chaintech 7NJL6 with an Atlon XP 3000, 512 of ram and a video card, not sure what kind yet, my budget is $300 right now (canadian dollars). The motherboard and cpu comes to $166 after rebates, tax and shipping, then add some cheap ram for like $65 after taxes then that leaves me with $70 for a video card. I'm looking to play games like HL2, CSS and maybe some DOOM3, now i know what your thinking, this setup is crap but im building an Athlon 64 a bit later but right now I need something other than my Duron 850 lol. Anyway my question is if i decide to go with an FX 5500 or something, what kinda FPS are we talking about here?


Btw: I already have a 40 GIG harddrive, DVD-rom, CD-burner, case, psu and a monitor... Just need the GUTS!
__________________

__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 07:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
S e c u r e d
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Somewhere Sunny
Posts: 3,760
Default

you will probably be bouncing around the mid 20's to 13fps in CSS.
__________________

__________________
brady is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 11:21 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

I wouldn't count on much. Keep those settings low. The processor isn't weak. It's the video card that's the bottleneck.

Ryan

edit: If you can get a cheaper setup, perhaps a sempron or something, see if you can spring the extra few bucks and get a $100ish dollar video card, you'll notice a difference. If you spend that much more, you've jumped into the next generation of video card for a profound difference.
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 09-29-2005, 11:33 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Maybe i'll save up a bit more and spend a little bit more money (keeping the cpu motherboard and ram). What card would you reccommend?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 08:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Anyone?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 08:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,147
Default

I say save your money for this build so you have more for your next build.
__________________
Snake-Eyes is offline  
Old 09-30-2005, 10:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

Try the 6600 or the 9800pro. Those are very good performers with current games and you'll be very happy with them.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 05:25 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
I say save your money for this build so you have more for your next build.
Nah, once i get enough money, ill sell the system that im building and get some more money to go to my new system. I can get a lot of money for this system. Put it this way...I sold a PIII 800 MHz with a 7 gig harddrive and a monitor for $300! LMAO. Ill atleast be able to get double that.


Quote:
Try the 6600 or the 9800pro. Those are very good performers with current games and you'll be very happy with them.
I would but that card is around $160-200, i dont have enough money for that right now. Any other suggestions. Should I go with Nvidia or ATI for this one?
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 10-01-2005, 05:30 PM   #9 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,327
Send a message via AIM to Flanker
Default

Radeon 9600Pro? $70-$100.
__________________

Flanker is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:17 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.