Dead motherboard? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-29-2008, 01:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default

Whenever I turn on my computer, it will run for a second, the screen won't start up, I'll hear the CPU fan running and etc. The lights turn on, but besides that if I click any button on the keyboard the computer shuts off. At first I thought it was the Power Supply, but because the computer started up and the lights started up I quickly realized that wasn't the problem. I know that the CPU fan starts up but I don't know whether that means the CPU is alright or not. And as far as the Motherboard goes. I m guessing its the motherboard because even the start up screen doesn't start. Can anyone help me figure out what is wrong?

Hope its my CPU because then I'll have an excuse to buy a new CPU with : D.
Here's the CPU I m eyeing.

Newegg.com - AMD Athlon 64 X2 4800+ Brisbane 2.5GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache Socket AM2 65W Dual-Core Processor - CPUs / Processors

Beats my old Athlon 4600+ 2.4ghz 89watts 90nm chip >.>
__________________

__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 02:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Dead motherboard?

Could be your GFX card. Have you got anything to toss in it to rule it out?
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 03:07 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Dead motherboard?

You could try resetting cmos. My IP35-E occasionally won't display video when I set the cpu speed back to stock after overclocking but reseting cmos fixes it every time.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 03:42 PM   #4 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Dead motherboard?

Could also be memory related? But that's just another slight guess. Most likely it's GPU related or some cmos setting that needs reset.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 04:41 PM   #5 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Dead motherboard?

If it was my graphics card then my screen wouldn't start. Which is true that my screen doesn't start. But my computer comes on for a split second. The CPU fan starts working, the power supply fan starts working, then every thing turns off. I don't think its the power supply. Cause if it was nothing would start up. The CPU fan starts working so I think it isn't the CPU. When I connect the GFX card and the monitor the monitor doesn't flicker. So I m guessing the problem is not the Graphic card. Which only leads to the mother board.

So to nip this problem in the butt. I decided to get both a new motherboard and a new CPU............. Yeah I know I m taking any excuse I can for a new CPU : D

So what kind of Mother boards does any one want to recommend. Full Size ATX and around 70~80 dollars. Doesn't need SLI, but if its got SLI, then thats great too.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 05:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Dead motherboard?

If you really want to buy a new mobo and cpu you might want to consider going with Intel. You could get an E2180 and EP35 DS3L for $160.

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Newegg.com - Intel Pentium E2180 Allendale 2.0GHz 1MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - CPUs / Processors

This motherboard is cheaper than the DS3L but is still good if you need to save some money.

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P31-S3G LGA 775 Intel P31 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 05:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Dead motherboard?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Puddle Jumper View Post
If you really want to buy a new mobo and cpu you might want to consider going with Intel. You could get an E2180 and EP35 DS3L for $160.

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3L LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards

Newegg.com - Intel Pentium E2180 Allendale 2.0GHz 1MB L2 Cache LGA 775 65W Dual-Core Processor - CPUs / Processors

This motherboard is cheaper than the DS3L but is still good if you need to save some money.

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-P31-S3G LGA 775 Intel P31 ATX Intel Motherboard - Intel Motherboards
Sounds cool, But I still can't let the past die. :' ( So I m trying to to stick with AMD for a little longer. Besides I hear that their 5000+ BE is really good. But then again with the new 45 watt Chips just in, they must be able to over clock a bit higher and at a lower price then some of Intels chips.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 05:41 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: Dead motherboard?

Just because the CPU fan turns on, doesn't meant the CPU is working. The fan is connected by it's own power connector and has nothing to do with CPU functionality other than to cool it. It could very well be your CPU, but I would still test the memory as well.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 05:47 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Dead motherboard?

Ok I going test the memory and the graphics card just to be sure. As well as placing another CPU into the mother board to see if its the mother board or the CPU itself.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 05-29-2008, 05:54 PM   #10 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: Dead motherboard?

Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GA-MA770-S3 AM2+/AM2 AMD 770 ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

Newegg.com - AMD Phenom 8450 Toliman 2.1GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 2MB L3 Cache Socket AM2+ 95W Triple-Core Processor - CPUs / Processors
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Motherboard battery dead? DJ EndurancE Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 12-24-2007 02:58 PM
Replacing Motherboard, Help Needed Rask Vann New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-15-2007 09:40 AM
DFI motherboard dead or dying? M733mhz New Systems | Building and Buying 5 10-28-2007 11:16 PM
Could dead motherboard damage other parts? pinoy3000 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 05-31-2007 10:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.