DDR2 Ram 2 sticks and 4 slots? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-18-2006, 12:21 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Default DDR2 Ram 2 sticks and 4 slots?

So I have an ASUS motherboard M2N32 - SLI and will be running AMD 64 X2 4600 CPU. I plan on 2 identical 1Gb ram cards and question is exactly which slots I should put them in, or does it really matter? There are 2 black slots and 2 yellow slots. Motherboard manual kinda confused me as to my options...
Thanks.
__________________

308tr6 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 12:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Colour coordinate the two sticks of RAM, stick them in both black slots or both yellow slots. It does matter, they need to be like that to run in dual channel.
__________________

The General is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 12:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Default

Thanks!!!!
308tr6 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:51 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.