DDR2 Ram 2 sticks and 4 slots? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-18-2006, 11:21 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10
Default DDR2 Ram 2 sticks and 4 slots?

So I have an ASUS motherboard M2N32 - SLI and will be running AMD 64 X2 4600 CPU. I plan on 2 identical 1Gb ram cards and question is exactly which slots I should put them in, or does it really matter? There are 2 black slots and 2 yellow slots. Motherboard manual kinda confused me as to my options...

308tr6 is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 11:43 AM   #2 (permalink)
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191

Colour coordinate the two sticks of RAM, stick them in both black slots or both yellow slots. It does matter, they need to be like that to run in dual channel.

The General is offline  
Old 09-18-2006, 11:48 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 10

308tr6 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:41 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.