DDR2 & drive bays - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-06-2008, 04:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default DDR2 & drive bays

ok i am just looking for information on the 2

the mobo i will be getting next monday supports DDR2 800mhz now i just need to know what to look for

i dont under stand the 4-4-4-4-12 thing and i would like to know which company would be best to go for i.e. OCZ, patriot ect

and drive bays, what do they do, is it worth getting one

thanks in advance
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 02-06-2008, 05:06 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: DDR2 & drive bays

CAS latency - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
you can fairly ignore the above if you don't tend to oc and just want to buy parts

as for brands...that's very subjective. I mainly care less on brand, but look at reviews, and I buy the ones with the heat spreaders (ram heatsinks)

drive bays...depending on what you are talking about....a standard case has drive bays, internal and external, 3.5 and 5.25..of varying numbers and combinations.

Computer case - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
note the inset at upper right about drive bays

UNLESS you are talking about hot swappable bays, then of course, that serves a media centric PC well. As you just buy drives that can hot swap, pulling, replacing without powering off.

Hot swapping - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
The HP Media Center PC
Iomega 33190 400GB Hot-Swappable Hard Drive StorCenter Pro NAS P400r Servers-Best Computer Online Store Houston Buy Discount Prices Texas-Directron.com
3 Drive (2 x 5.25") Hot-Swappable SATA Internal Drive Case SNT-2131-SATA SNT-2131-SATA
__________________

atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-06-2008, 06:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: DDR2 & drive bays

I still have 1 set of crucial ballistix for sale. 60 bucks shipped. They run easily at 800mhz 4-3-3-8 timings, or upwards of 1000mhz at 4-4-4-12.

Also have a set of 4-4-4-15 oczs and 5-5-5-12 corsairs that are ddr2 800 that both run perfectly stable at 4-4-4-12. 40 bucks each set. Just trying to sell off some of my older parts. I buy too much memory. Decided to go to 2x2 sticks instead of running 4x1.

Oh ya, i also have a brand new 8800GT 512 that i'm selling. (was my stepup card from my GTS320) that has quake wars that i'm selling for 340 shipped. Lemme know if you are interested in anything i can always just put the memory in the box with the video card
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 06:56 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: DDR2 & drive bays

i should of put a link to the drive bay i was talking about (and said what i was thinking of for it)

Icy Box 138SK-B Full Alu Alloy Rack - Aria Technology

my dad is thinking of this for a HDD for my little sister (as a removeable storage) she uses a lot of music she can easyley fill 100GB + of just music so he was thinking this for a big hdd so she has a back up of all her music

he still had a 80GB hdd with all the music, videos and photos on of hers and was thinking big storage she can put in differant pc's and use again and again and again

would he be right in thinking this would be right
__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 07:34 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: DDR2 & drive bays

ah...well strange thing, only in how certain things are viewed
that item is a hot swappable drive, like I mentioned....the only caveat is you have to have a system or setup that handles that...that looks to be made for server type contructions

a typical vanilla case will not have the ability to service that drive...however it is not something so out of the realm...just needs the right hardware for the case

Live Search: hot swap drive bay

from the above link, first search matches what I wanted to illustrate
4-Bay eSATA Hot Swap RAID Drive Enclosure
and alternative
Raid Back-Plane Aluminum Serial ATA Hot Swap 3-4 Drive Bay Converter

one is an enclosure, much like a mini tower just to house the hot swappables...the other is a drive bay converter...to allow the space in your tower to hold hot swappables...you would need a tower that has space for 3 external 5.25 bays.

if this would be too much hassle...just get a standard external harddrive
atomic tofu is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 08:55 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default Re: DDR2 & drive bays

Something like this:
Newegg.com - Thermaltake BlacX N0028USU External Hard Drive SATA Enclosure Docking Station 2.5" & 3.5" USB 2.0 - Retail

It would allow you to take any SATA drive and use it as portable storage.

Here's the manufacturer's page on it:
Thermaltake N0028USU SATA to USB 2.0 Hard Drive Enclosure
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 02-07-2008, 11:53 AM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
solidsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 600
Default Re: DDR2 & drive bays

right thanks guys i'll tell him not to bother with that

he is making a desktop pc (tower or what ever) and is looking mor towards multimedia ( more music and videos )

i'll just tell him to get a decent external HDD
__________________

__________________


My new pc spec's ~

Case ~ nexus caterpilla
Mobo ~ Gigabyte GA~P35~DS3R Rev 2.0
CPU ~ Intel Q6600
HDD ~ 2 x 500gb western digital drives
Ram ~ 4GB worth (4 strips) of OCZ 2GB PC2-6400 Platinum Rev 2.0
PSU ~ Corsair 750TX
GPU ~ GTX 295

OS - Windows 7 Home 64-bit
solidsteve is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
HELP!! My hard drive will not boot! ehc68 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 15 01-29-2009 04:33 PM
Hard drive fails File Structure test tropicalfish Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 05-15-2007 01:37 PM
Hard Drive Question Parky-RFC Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 04-28-2007 09:49 PM
Help a newb: simple issue with hard drive copying? AppleBag Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-12-2007 01:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.