DDR RAM cards - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-20-2006, 02:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 22
Default DDR RAM cards

Just want to check something here but if one of your ram cards is a different make from the other run and runs at like a speed of 200mhz and the other one runs at 160 does that affect the overall pc speed etc?

Eddieboi17 is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 02:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

You have 2 sticks of memory. Once is DDR400 and the other is DDR333. If you install both together, the DDR400 will clock down to match the other sticks speed.

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 02:49 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 1,706

is it posible to overclock one stick to match another?
Juice Daddy is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 03:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 177

by default, both sticks of memory will run at the lower speed of the two. You cannot overclock one stick to match the speeds of the other. Best thing to do is to buy another DDR400, preferbly the same exact one that you own right now.
doodle dee is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 04:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
reggie_da_man's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567

Well if you get good DDR333 sure you can overclock it like 33MHz to match the speed of the 400 stick.

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 04:34 PM   #6 (permalink)
Do work.
molsen's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen

how do you overclock individual ram slots? i was pretty sure you had to oc them both at once...

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 01-20-2006, 06:11 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 177

Originally posted by molsen
how do you overclock individual ram slots? i was pretty sure you had to oc them both at once...
my thoughts exactly

doodle dee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:30 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.