Custom Home PC - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-05-2010, 03:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Custom Home PC

Hi there, I'm building my gran a PC this week aswell as getting her a printer., ordering parts tomorrow morning from Aria PC - Computer Hardware, Components, Monitors.. at lowest prices


https://www.aria.co.uk/SuperSpecials...roductId=36047

https://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...roductId=37441

2 x https://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...roductId=34514

https://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...roductId=39205

https://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Moni...roductId=39709

https://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Peri...roductId=41199

https://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...roductId=41337

https://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...roductId=38547


Is that build good? That's basically the whole budget incl monitor etc, which I've included

basically, there's 4gb of ram because she likes things to load instantly, Already purchased Windows 7 for the rig 64bit.

Anything that I can save her money on or is there anything that should be changed? cheers!
__________________

__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 09-05-2010, 06:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: Custom Home PC

i don't see a motherboard?
__________________

Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:40 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Custom Home PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat.Clown View Post
i don't see a motherboard?
Ditto.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 04:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Custom Home PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Ditto.
Asus M4A78LT-M LE AMD 760G (Socket AM3) DDR3 PCI-Express Motherboard - Aria Technology

Sorry, there ya go.
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 10:12 AM   #5 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Custom Home PC

Motherboard has two DIMM slots, but you are ordering four sticks of RAM? That'll be a neat trick. Be sure to post pics.

Go ahead and use these instead:
https://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...roductId=37540
3.53 more, but 2x2GB.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 10:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Custom Home PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Motherboard has two DIMM slots, but you are ordering four sticks of RAM? That'll be a neat trick. Be sure to post pics.

Go ahead and use these instead:
https://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...roductId=37540
3.53 more, but 2x2GB.
Actually:

Arianet 2GB (1x2GB) DDR3 PC3-10666C9 1333MHz Single Channel Module - Two of them Thus making 4gb 2x2gb :P
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 11:16 AM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Custom Home PC

Skip the Arianet memory and spend the extra cash and get the memory Trotter linked you to.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 11:51 AM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Custom Home PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
Skip the Arianet memory and spend the extra cash and get the memory Trotter linked you to.
https://www.aria.co.uk/Products/Comp...age=4&rqcType=

Description:
The new OCZ Gold Edition is optimized for the Intel I5/I7 platforms and offers computer enthusiasts and gamers unparalleled performance and the piece of mind they are guaranteed to produce the world's fastest memory speeds within their personal desktop or gaming system. The DDR3-10666C9 Gold Edition is the ultimate memory solution for contemporary graphic-intensive PC games and provides unsurpassed reliability and performance to unleash every graphic possibility.
The OCZ Gold Edition utilizes the latest OCZ heatspreader design. XTC (Xtreme Thermal Convection) Heatspreaders allow increased ventilation and heat dissipation due to an innovative honeycomb design providing more direct access to the actual memory ICs.

This memory is optimised for Intel based i5 and i7 boards so not recommended for AMD based systems.


would that matter? ^
__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 12:04 PM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Custom Home PC

no, it doesn't matter.

Quote:
Originally Posted by iPROTechman
so not recommended for AMD based systems.
I can't find that statement anywhere.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-06-2010, 02:25 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
iPROTechman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Manchester
Posts: 334
Send a message via MSN to iPROTechman
Default Re: Custom Home PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by Slaymate View Post
no, it doesn't matter.



I can't find that statement anywhere.

On aria, where you have the questions by customers, it's on page 4 as answered by an Aria employee :

Question by anon

hi
i was wondering weather the Gigabyte GA-MA78LMT-US2H 760G Socket AM3 rev3.3 would support this ram.
Answer by chriss on Friday, August 6, 2010
This memory is optimised for Intel based i5 and i7 boards so not recommended for AMD based systems.
__________________

__________________
Intel I5 2500K | Gigabyte P67 UD5 |16GB Mushkin Redline @ 2133MHZ|Custom Watercooling | Crucial C300 64GB SSD | GPU currently bidding for |Corsair HX 1000W PSU | Corsair 700D
iPROTechman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
vista home premium and xp home network poetry8 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 06-21-2009 03:35 PM
EASEUS Partition Manager 3.0 Home Edition - FREE FOR HOME USERS ONLY Osiris Tips, Tricks & Tutorials 0 12-08-2008 06:37 PM
FS: home made custom crochet things, including baby afghans,ponchos,ect bigr5026 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 8 07-07-2006 12:16 PM
Using a Toshibe laptop XP home code on a home built desktop? mikepg Microsoft Windows and Software 4 03-18-2006 08:34 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:26 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.