Current PSU inadequate for 9800 GTX, suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gmeade1

Beta member
Video Card
Purchased Rosewill RP500-2 500W Power Supply however the system will not turn on. I thing the current may be inadequate for the videocard, as it only puts out 18A and I need 24A minimum.

I was considering returning that PSU and getting CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W Power Supply

It's quite a bit more in price, but should run the videocard right? Any other suggestions without breaking the bank?

Thanks, it's my first build.

Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 ST3250410AS 250GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive - OEM
GIGABYTE GA-EP35-DS3R LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Dynamic Energy Saver Ultra Durable II Intel Motherboard - Retail
XFX PVT98FYDDU GeForce 9800 GTX(G92) XXX 512MB 256-bit GDDR3 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready SLI Supported Video Card - Retail
Rosewill RP500-2 ATX12V v2.01 500W Power Supply - Retail
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor Model HH80562PH0568M - OEM
G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 1066 (PC2 8500) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F2-8500CL5D-2GBPK - Retail
Microsoft Comfort Curve 2000 B2L-00047 Black USB Ergonomics Keyboard Mouse Included - OEM
Acer X193W+BD Black 19" 5ms Widescreen LCD Monitor - Retail
LG 20X DVD±R Super Multi DVD Burner Black ATAPI / E-IDE Model GSA-H55NK - OEM
ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler - Retail

I thought that Rosewill was rather a good budget PSU... Someone else will help you further though.
PS: The 650TX is very good, more than enough to run your system.

The Rosewill did have nice reviews, and I'm sure works well for most systems that aren't running such a demanding video card. Initially, it's why I chose it; good reviews and has the connections I needed.