CrossFire R9 390's Cpu i5 4690k Bottleneck - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2016, 03:49 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Nederland
Posts: 7
Default CrossFire R9 390's Cpu i5 4690k Bottleneck

Hello all i just got my second r9 390 graphics card but when i enable Crossfire it uses both gpu's but with half power (700~ Mhz) and i get stuttered gameplays. This is with Dying Light Gta 5 and Tomb Raider , Im playing on a 1440P screen and Cpu uses hovers around 90 and sometimes jump onto 100% but i've read somem forums and they say the the i5 4690k shouldnt be bottlenecking anything so im kinda confused Help me please .

Gpu: 2x Sapphire R9 390
Cpu: i5 4690K (OC to 4.00)
PSU: 850 Watt
__________________

DennDeDennDenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2016, 11:26 AM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: CrossFire R9 390's Cpu i5 4690k Bottleneck

Already answered your question which you thanked the post for. If you're still using the same board you're going to have the same problem.

Problem with Sapphire R9 390 Crossfire
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2016, 12:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Nederland
Posts: 7
Default Re: CrossFire R9 390's Cpu i5 4690k Bottleneck

Hi , I got the MSI gaming 5 motherboard , wich does support crossfire , I had a 4k monitor when using crossfire and had no stutters or something , had low fps 50~ (ish) but still it worked , now i switched monitors , so from 4k to 1440p and my crossfire setup suddenly doesnt work how it used to work , my cpu hovers around 90-95% when playing games (wich is the bottleneck) but why does my cpu bottleneck the GPU on 1440p when 4k res should ask for more , i dont understand
DennDeDennDenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2016, 01:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: CrossFire R9 390's Cpu i5 4690k Bottleneck

Firstly, you have your cards in the first and second 16x slots, correct?

What games are you playing, and what is your GPU usage when playing these games? Just because your CPU usage is high doesn't mean it's a bottleneck.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2016, 01:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Nederland
Posts: 7
Default Re: CrossFire R9 390's Cpu i5 4690k Bottleneck

Pci E x16 yes , I have turned off Crossfire now cause gaming without it goes smoother than with it ,

I am playing Battlefield 4 , Gta 5 , Dying Light , And my Gpu usage is 99~100% most of the time giving me everything , but when i enable Crossfire then both of the card give 700~ ish sometimes less i gues they both working towards the 1100mhz wich my card is OC'd at
DennDeDennDenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2016, 02:08 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: CrossFire R9 390's Cpu i5 4690k Bottleneck

Since you've done the board change have you flushed your drivers and reinstalled new ones?

It sounds like your cards GPU usage is dropping so they are ramping down due to less utilization. This could be one of two things, drivers or power.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2016, 02:19 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Nederland
Posts: 7
Default Re: CrossFire R9 390's Cpu i5 4690k Bottleneck

But how can this suddenly change when all i did was change the monitor , @ 4k resolution they both were @ 100%~ ish and i didnt change anything besides the monitor , 4k>1440P.

My PSU is 850 Watts wich was enough for 4k so i can gues its also good enough for 1440p,
Is there anything else what could be the problem ?

Asus mg278 Gaming monitor is what i changed it with 144HZ and im using displayport cable with it.
DennDeDennDenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2016, 11:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: CrossFire R9 390's Cpu i5 4690k Bottleneck

What FPS are you getting in these titles @ 1440?

I said power because your cards take 300 watts a pop and your CPU since it's OCd another 100w or thereabouts. Theoretically the CX850 should handle it, but it's still a budget PSU and as such could be drooping. No real way to know for sure unless some testing was done.

Changing the monitor could do it. Go into uhhh what is AMD's driver suite called now? Crimson? Go into there and make sure your refresh rates are set to 144 and not 60. Also in game. Another thing you can do is use 3dmark Firestrike or Unigine Heaven which if all is well should load the cards to 100% and we can monitor what's going on there. That monitor supports Free-sync which would also be doing it messing with your refresh causing your cards to not need to work as hard.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2016, 02:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Nederland
Posts: 7
Default Re: CrossFire R9 390's Cpu i5 4690k Bottleneck

Hi , i just ran Heaven Benchmark and got 88 FPS @ 1440P @ ULTRA And both card were running 99-100% with both using full power 1040 MHZ (except tesselation wich was @ normal) I normally run these games @ 60+++ Fps.

One card gives me 60+ fps (wich is fine) but when i use crossfire it DOES give me MORE FPS but stutters enormusly, Using 50% on both card or using 700~ of its 1040 MHZ.
DennDeDennDenn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2016, 05:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,313
Default Re: CrossFire R9 390's Cpu i5 4690k Bottleneck

And it does this on every single game or just one?

I was trying to get a hard figure of FPS these games are giving running both cards. If it's hitting a cap due to freesync or vsync this will happen.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problem with Sapphire R9 390 Crossfire DennDeDennDenn System Upgrades 1 05-28-2016 10:36 AM
R9 380 or R9 390 - Crossfire or not Shigu System Upgrades 11 11-20-2015 10:52 AM
MSI Radeon R9 390 GAMING 8GB or Gigabyte GeForce GTX 970 for 1440p and 1080p and i want it to be able to run games on 10 aftermath123 New Systems | Building and Buying 4 06-30-2015 09:14 PM
Deal on i5-4690K ($225 free shipping) the1truegamer New Systems | Building and Buying 9 09-25-2014 10:09 PM
NVIDIA GeForce GTX 390 Spy Pics Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 8 04-05-2009 08:09 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.