Crossfire Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-19-2011, 08:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Crossfire Questions

Been a long time everyone... It's been so long that I feel like a hardware NewB all over again. Lame.

Anywho... My rig is in my sig, SHOULD be correct, couple of TB short on the drives listed, but eh. Anyways, I'm finally getting my office set up again, computer has been shut down sitting up there for almost 18 months now. My plan is multiple monitors, a Dell 27", a Sony 19", and a 17" currently, will possibly grow. Right now I have the XFX 4780 single card, but the mobo supports crossfire. SOOOO, I'm not sure what to do to expand to the other monitors. I know a junky wimpy card would do it, but I was thinking with prices whatever are, maybe I could set up some crossfire action. Now, I'm not very familiar with it, but from what I gather, the cards need to be running around the same clock rates. If one card is faster, if will underclock itself to mat h the slower card, no? If that's the case, would it be better to get another 4870, or would it be worth-while to get a 6790 with dual dvi, hdmi and display port? If my thoughts are correct, the 6790 will underclock itself to match the 4870, which kind of
Defeats the purpose of looking at such a higher end model right?

As far as use goes, its been off for 18 months, so I have no new games, and I don't game too often, in addition to my first born coming in a month keeps the budget low. I play on getting BF3 at some point in the future, and I want multiple monitors, so what should I look into? Sittin here on my phone right now, so research is a bit of a PITA.

Thanks all!!

Could just be my phone, but it looks like my sig didn't show up.
__________________

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 09-21-2011, 10:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: Crossfire Questions

Sig showed up in the second post, but vanished when I merged them. >.<

CrossfireX will run with different speed cards (I think), but at the speed of the slower card. You could go with a more powerful Eyefinity card and run three monitors on just the one card, though. maybe even sell the other card to help make up the difference.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-22-2011, 12:59 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Crossfire Questions

If I am not mistaken, when doing crossfire, you can only use the outputs of a single card, which would limit you.

You will be better off with either two seperate GPUs or a single card that supports 3+ monitors on it alone.

Crossfire/SLI is really meant to get far more processing power for one or two high resolution displays while gaming or doing other graphics intensive tasks on a budget, not really for multi-monitor support when it comes to several monitors.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-22-2011, 11:17 AM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Crossfire Questions

My bad Trotter. I was typing that up on my phone from the doctors office the other day. Not sure why the sig didn't show up.

Those are both good points. SO.... what if I was to get a more powerful card, but for the sake of arguement only supports 2 monitors. If I leave BOTH cards in the computer, but NOT running in crossfire mode, does that then have the displays being driven from the powerful card, but just physically attached via the weak card?

For the life of me, I can't remember how I had it set up a while back. I used to have an AGP video card, with a weak passivly cooled PCI card that also had a monitor on it. I can't recall, but I think both monitors had the same quality, as if it was the AGP card processing all the video info, and the 2nd monitor info was sent to the other card, and displayed on the monitor...

Does that sound plausable?


EDIT: I should note that the 27" is the main monitor which will be used for gaming. The 19" and 17" are used/will be used for multitasking. Ex: If I'm surfing the web, I will usually have a movie or tv show running on the other monitor. Basically, I am trying to figure out what upgrades I will need to run BF3 decently on this machine. I am thinking upgrading to Win 7 at some point, and getting an 6970, but I am not sure yet, not that it matters, and the funds won't be available till income tax return in March, if even then. Ugh, sad face. /EDIT
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 09-22-2011, 12:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Crossfire Questions

One GPU will not handle the load for another unless your in an SLI/Crossfire setup.

IMO, I would get a decently high end card and a mid range card, have the higher end card push the 27 inch monitor by it self, and leave the mid-range one pushing the 19 and 17 if your not going to use those for gaming. There will be enough power in that setup to run the monitors nicely, just make sure your CPU can keep up in the end.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-22-2011, 12:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default Re: Crossfire Questions

Cool, that's probably what I will end up doing then (budget allowing). I figure I might as well keep the 4870, more than good to drive the extra monitors. Now just to deciede on a card to get for the main monitor, and see if it will work with the system.

Thanks!!
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 09-22-2011, 12:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Crossfire Questions

A good eyefinity card like the 6970 would have no problem running all 3 displays. I've tried both the single eyefinity card and dual card setups with my triple displays and there is no reason to go the dual card route IMO.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 09-23-2011, 01:14 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default Re: Crossfire Questions

What about running all 3 displays and them games of his?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 09-23-2011, 10:52 AM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by c0rr0sive:1932199
What about running all 3 displays and them games of his?
That's what I am doing, running games on one main display with the two secondary displays showing something else and I haven't noticed any impact on performance
__________________

__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New build Heatsiink and Crossfire questions locust00 New Systems | Building and Buying 5 11-01-2009 03:11 AM
SLI vs. Crossfire 808Alaska New Systems | Building and Buying 25 07-18-2009 02:10 PM
Crossfire/SLI??? Shaundale Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 17 10-08-2007 03:06 PM
SLI/Crossfire or not? GrogLikesBeer New Systems | Building and Buying 9 04-06-2007 02:35 PM
X1900 Crossfire Edition... or X1950 Crossfire Edition? NosBoost300 New Systems | Building and Buying 25 11-21-2006 06:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.