crossfire or not? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-14-2008, 08:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default crossfire or not?

ok I am about to do a MAJOR overhaul on my puter sometime in the next week or so and I have a ATI 3870 right now and I was wondering if it would be worth it to pick up another one and run em crossfire?
__________________

__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 09-14-2008, 11:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Illinois, USA
Posts: 106
Default Re: crossfire or not?

It really depends on what you would use it for. Do you notice anything slow about your current setup? Not getting enough fps maybe, or slow to load? If nothing's bad, I don't see a reason to throw more money at it.
__________________

rkagin is offline  
Old 09-15-2008, 03:03 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: crossfire or not?

What resolution do you run at?

Crossfire is really needed unless you run at high resolutions or use multiple monitors. Better to invest in a card like the 4850 if you not getting the performance you want in games.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 09-15-2008, 04:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: crossfire or not?

well I'm upgrading my mobo, cpu, ram, all that good stuff and i my parents said for my bday they would give me some extra money and I figured that it could go for another 3870 if its worth it. I run usually at 1280x1024 but I also sometimes hook it up to our 60in 1080p TV.
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 09-16-2008, 04:38 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: crossfire or not?

Well a single 4870 will outperform 2 3870s in xfire. So i would say just get one of them if you can afford it. But if you can find a 3870 cheap it should be still pretty good.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Old 09-16-2008, 09:51 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: crossfire or not?

ok so the 4870 is faster then 2 3870s. ok I'll see what I can do with my budget, your talking just the 4870 not the X2 right?
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 09-16-2008, 10:27 PM   #7 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: crossfire or not?

No just look at the 4870/4850. I think a 4850 would benfefit you more over 2x3870's. Whatever is in your price range, the 4870 is about 15%-20% over the 4850.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 04:26 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 374
Default Re: crossfire or not?

OK so I would see a noticeable increase from the 3870 to a 4850 or 4870? One more thing would I see an increase just from upgrading the rest of my system if I ended up keeping the 3870? Just wondering but I'm thinking if I'm gonna put this much in I might as well go big lol
__________________
2 B old and wise U must 1st be young and stupid
Trinity ATX Mid-Tower Case, Blue neon, ASUS MOBO, Intel E8400 dual core @ 3.96GHz, 4GB RAM, 2 ATI HD 3870s Xfire, 74GB Raptor HDD w/XP, 320GB HDD w/Games, 250GB HDD w/ windows 7, 2TB external HDD, 750W psu, on a Panasonic 46" Plasma and 24" Gateway lcd as 2nd
AMD6415 is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 04:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 443
Send a message via AIM to Ventriac
Default Re: crossfire or not?

In different circumstances, yes...
__________________

CPU E8500MB Asus P5Q Pro
RamOCZ Reaper ddr2800 GPUVisiontek 4870
PSU Toughpower 700 HDD WD 640 GB
Ventriac is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 03:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: crossfire or not?

The cpu might bottleneck.
__________________

__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crossfire Calculations!!!! (I'm kind of happy/dissapointed) Drizzt New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-23-2008 10:16 AM
Crossfire Question ilim4t1c New Systems | Building and Buying 3 06-16-2008 08:06 AM
crossfire calsonic System Upgrades 7 05-16-2008 11:50 AM
Crossfire Question with X1950XT Ethereal_Dragon New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-25-2007 01:30 AM
Crossfire Q (Crysis not working) pullyalater Overclocking and Modding 2 11-21-2007 11:21 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.