crossfire - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2008, 12:39 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default crossfire

so im looking to upgrade my system to a dual video card one, i currently have an asus eaX1650pro 400MHz crossfire ready, and the closest new card i can find to add is a HIS x1650pro 600MHz crossfire ready.
my mobo is a Saphire Tech Crossfire Xpress 3200 PC-A9RD580Adv.

anyway, as far as i know you need either a "dongle" type cable or a "bridge" interconnect type cable to connect two crossfire cards, however my original video card, and the new HIS one don't have the separate connector(s) on them for either cable.
so, what im wondering is, how do i connect the two cards? is it just through the catalyst control center and the board works with some crossfire bus or what?

thanx.
__________________

__________________
A Life? Cool! Where can I download one of those from?
calsonic is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 10:32 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: crossfire

anyone?
__________________

__________________
A Life? Cool! Where can I download one of those from?
calsonic is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 11:30 AM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: crossfire

You don't need to have the bridge, but this will only enable software crossfire, and not hardware, so the performance will not be top, but an improvement. Also, you well need two of the same card. (Maybe not same brand, but same memory, clocks, etc.). And yes you enable crossfire from the CCC. Also some boards do not support full x16 x16 crossfire and may only support x16 x8. I'm not sure about your board, but you may want to look into that.

If anything, you should have received the bridge with your motherboard, not the cards.

EDIT: I looked up your board and it says it has 2 x16 lanes, but I do not know if that necessarily means they both run at x16 in crossfire.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 02:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: crossfire

Two x1650Pro's? you would do better with a single, more powerful card.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 05-12-2008, 03:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
NightSurge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Fort Wayne, IN
Posts: 2,217
Send a message via AIM to NightSurge
Default Re: crossfire

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trotter View Post
Two x1650Pro's? you would do better with a single, more powerful card.
He's probably right. Given the age of those cards, your best upgrade would probably be to a single newer card.
__________________

If I was helpful, please click the icon on the left hand side of this message that looks like a check mark Thanks!

NightSurge is offline  
Old 05-13-2008, 11:37 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 49
Default Re: crossfire

Quote:
Originally Posted by surgeVel View Post
You don't need to have the bridge, but this will only enable software crossfire, and not hardware, so the performance will not be top, but an improvement. Also, you well need two of the same card. (Maybe not same brand, but same memory, clocks, etc.).
so it won't work unless the cards have matching specs? i thought that if the clocks weren't the same it would just ruin at the slower one.

i think that getting a second card is the most cost effective upgrade, considering it is only $50. Newegg.com - HIS Hightech H165PRF512N-R Radeon X1650PRO 512MB 128-bit GDDR2 PCI Express x16 CrossFire Supported Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards why do the new cards have the "HD" prefix anyways?
__________________
A Life? Cool! Where can I download one of those from?
calsonic is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 05:59 AM   #7 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: crossfire

Not worth it even for that $50. Save up another $50 and buy something better. Your performance increase if you get another 1650 will be very minimal.

And for the record, it will scale down the clock speed if the second one is higher.
zedman3d is offline  
Old 05-16-2008, 11:50 AM   #8 (permalink)
Inquiry - The Dark Cheese
 
darksideleader's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 953
Default Re: crossfire

Try to look for a HD 3850 or 8800GS at the 80 dollar mark, so much better than x1650 PRO crossfire.
__________________

__________________
Runnin' Stock, Cool, Quiet and Fast
Q6700
Thermaltake Big Typhoon w/ Scythe Kama PWN Fan
MSI P6N SLI Platinum
OCZ Vista Performance Platinum 4x2GB
2x Western Digital Caviar Blue 500GB RAID 0
HD Radeon 3450 *Temp* *8800GT SLI Coming*
Acer AL2216W 22" LCD Monitor + 17" Samsung Sync Master 750
Antec TruePower Trio 650 Watt
Power Up Standard
Windows 7 Home Premium (64-bit)
darksideleader is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel Skulltrail with SLI and Crossfire Support Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 17 01-15-2008 03:32 AM
Crossfire Question with X1950XT Ethereal_Dragon New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-25-2007 01:30 AM
Crossfire Q (Crysis not working) pullyalater Overclocking and Modding 2 11-21-2007 11:21 AM
Radeon HD 3870 Quad CrossFire Pics Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 14 11-16-2007 07:24 PM
sli or crossfire? MonkeyBusiness New Systems | Building and Buying 0 08-29-2007 08:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.