cpu-z reading - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-23-2009, 04:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default cpu-z reading

I have an AMD phenom x4 9150 quad core 1.8Ghz cpu. When i run CPU-Z, it reads:

Core Speed: 900Mhz
Multiplier: 4.5
Bus Speed: 200Mhz
HT link: 1000Mhz

Shouldn't core speed be 1.8Ghz? I saw it jump to 1.8 for about 1 sec once, but it was only for a mere second. The other computers i've run cpu-z on have shown the correct cpu speed. Could someone shed some light on this for me?
__________________

apsoul is offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 04:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: cpu-z reading

Yes and your multiplier should be 9.

Its called AMD Cool and Quiet.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 09:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default Re: cpu-z reading

ahh, so more or less, the multiplier drops to 4.5x when cpu doesn't have much going on. thank you much, I thought it was probably something like that, but wanted to be sure. thanks again
apsoul is offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 11:23 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Missouri
Posts: 1,534
Default Re: cpu-z reading

If you're interested in changing it to have the full speed constantly, you can go into the power options, and change it to performance instead of the defaulted 'balanced'
__________________
ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 : AMD FX 9370 : Corsair H100i GTX Cooler : 16GB Corsair Vengeance Blue 1600 (4x4Gb) : XFX 7970 Ghz 3GB x 2 : PNY XLR8 256GB SSD : Seagate 1TB : Antec True Power Quattro 1000W : Thermaltake G41
95BlackGA is offline  
Old 09-23-2009, 11:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default Re: cpu-z reading

very cool. thanks, tried that, and got the full 1.8 in cpuz, will change back though, no need to run at full all the time.
apsoul is offline  
Old 09-24-2009, 10:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: cpu-z reading

F you plan to OC, you will want it full.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-24-2009, 12:16 PM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default Re: cpu-z reading

MOBO doesn't have any OC options in bios... I'm not very familiar with OCing anyway. Would like to get into it, but from what I understand I would probably be much better suited getting Intel if I want to OC.
apsoul is offline  
Old 09-24-2009, 12:38 PM   #8 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: cpu-z reading

What mobo for an x4 doesn't have OCing? You OC is done through changing multipliers and fsb/core speeds..

AMD works just fine too..
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-25-2009, 12:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default Re: cpu-z reading

I cant go into bios and change multipliers or voltages from there, but after reading your reply, I searched around, and found some info on OCing. On my way to check out OC forum to find OC software download, and the general way to go about it. I would love to OC my computer, if not for the speed increase, then for the satisfaction in knowing I OC'd it thanks again
apsoul is offline  
Old 09-25-2009, 12:26 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: cpu-z reading

Never never use a software to OC.

What mobo do you have?
Is it a pre-built?
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Rosewill RCX-2775 CPU cooler. A diamond in the rough. Sora New Technology and Products 8 06-18-2008 04:01 PM
A direct cpu fan comparison XDRoX Overclocking and Modding 42 05-08-2008 09:09 PM
What is a 1:1 overclock? aetherh4cker Overclocking and Modding 22 01-17-2008 04:02 PM
Overclocked 3.2ghz Pentium D processor by 15% EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 1 12-19-2007 11:52 PM
Does my MB have a lock on the CPU freq.??? rickytan Overclocking and Modding 2 12-12-2007 01:16 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:29 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.