cpu upgrading question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-10-2006, 12:17 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default cpu upgrading question

hi. i'm trying to upgrade my pc and wanted to add a new cpu. but i don't know anything about cpu's. this is what i have right now



i was wondering if anyone could tell me a good cpu [ for gaming ]

also, i'm about to buy
ATI Radeon 9250 256MB DDR PCI Video and Kingston HYPER X 1GB

is that a good choice or not.

thanks in advance~
__________________

__________________
umbrae12 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 12:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,390
Default

Well, that CPU is a Socket A. My CPU is a Socket A as well. The problem is that they don't make them anymore.

You need to find out two things... what FSB your mobo can handle, and what CPUs yo can actually find.

Take your model number and go here:
http://welcome.hp.com/country/us/en/support.html

Click the radio button on "See support and troubleshooting information" and type in you computer's make and model (Pavilion xxxxx). Hit Enter.

Look for a link to your computer's specifications. Click it.

Scroll down until you see info about the CPU. It will tell you what FSB your mobo has. I figure it has 200 FSB, but it might actually go to 266 as well.

Once you have that information, start looking for CPUs with that FSB.

200FSB goes up to 2000+, I think. 266FSB goes up to 2400+. I think.

EDIT: While you are looking at your computer's specs, scroll on down to the RAM portion. Look to see what speed your computer uses (probably PC2100). No need to waste monay on fast RAM when your computer will just downclock it to the speed it needs.

Yeah, that RAM is way too fast for your comp. Here's a good set:
pqi POWER Series 1GB (2 x 512MB) 184-Pin DDR SDRAM Unbuffered DDR 266 (PC 2100)
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820141218
$73.99 + $4.81 Three Day Shipping
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 x6 core / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR4 2400 / Win10 Pro x64
Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 12:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default hmmm

i found the model number and this is what came up:

this is my pc

it's actually using a PC133 for RAM , but i couldn't find anything about CPU!!
__________________
umbrae12 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 01:10 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

sorry, another question... u said that the Kingston HYPER X 1GB was too fast for my pc. can you plz tell me what i can do to be able to use that much speed? what do i need to buy for that?
__________________
umbrae12 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 01:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
I poop on the rug
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,218
Default

a new motherboard...
__________________
Current Build:
Intel 8700k | 16GB G.skill Trident Z | Z370 Gigabyte Auros Gaming Extreme |
Asus GTX1080 Strix | Corsair H100i V2 | Corsair 750D | Corsair RM850X
NosBoost300 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 02:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,390
Default

Quote:
Proc. Front Side Bus Freq. 200/266MHz
Quote:
Memory Type SDRAM
Memory Speed PC133 (runs @100 or 133)
The RAM is gonna hurt.

SDRAM has 168 pins. DRAM has 184. SDRAM ain't cheap. The cheapest 512MB on NewEgg is $115.50 each. You might can try crucial.com or kingston.com, or even 1800memory.com.

If you decide to go with a new mobo, look at this one:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157022

It has an AGP 4X/8X slot, and can use PC2700 DRAM. It can also handle up to a 333FSB CPU.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 x6 core / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR4 2400 / Win10 Pro x64
Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 02:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,319
Default

wow..i never seen a HP wit a AMD cpu before
__________________

Avalanch3 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 02:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Talking

ooo thanks guys.
so if i get that ASRock K7S41GX mobo, the ATI Radeon 9250 256MB DDR PCI Video and Kingston HYPER X 1GB my pc will do fine?
__________________
umbrae12 is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 07:07 AM   #9 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,390
Default

You could go with the PCI card, but that mobo has an AGP slot.

If you are dead set on getting the 9250, you'd need to get an AGP one. The AGP version will out-perform a PCI one.

The Hyper X RAM would work in the ASRock mobo. It uses PC2700, but the PC3200 would give you some headroom if you decided to overclock. Personally, I' look at some PC2700 RAM and save some money. http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...ubmit=Property
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 x6 core / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR4 2400 / Win10 Pro x64
Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-10-2006, 01:33 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 9
Default

i think i'll take ur advice, Trotter~ i'll go with Hyper X RAM and PC2700.
thank you so much for ur time!
__________________

__________________
umbrae12 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.