CPU Upgrade Question. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2006, 09:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default Athlon 3200 or 3800?

I'm upgrading my system to socket 939 and I have a choice to make. Either get an athlon64 3200 venice, or an athlon64 3800 newcastle. What should I do?
__________________

curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 09:42 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

the 3800+ newcastle would outperform the 3200+ venice but the venice will overclock better and is technologically superior.

edit: i myself would take the venice.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 11:05 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

bump
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 05:39 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

nitestick's response not good enough for you? He pretty much gave it to you straight. But the way I'm thinking of it... if you are UPGRADING a CPU, then that means you HAVE to have some variation of the Athlon 64 3000+. So if that's the case, any kind of 3200+ would be a terrible waste of money. Stick with what you have until you can afford a 3700+ San Diego core or an Athlon X2.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 05:32 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 430
Default

Oh sorry, probably should have put Upgrading System. I'm going from a socket A xp2200 so anything that's 939 will be an improvement. Which one do you think would be better for a system upgrade?
curtcheese64 is offline  
Old 02-06-2006, 08:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

If you're not planning on any overclocking the 3800 will kick the snot out of the 3200.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 09:13 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 114
Default

If u can afford then go for a San Diego Core, Next the Venice core and the worst being the Newcastle.
__________________
DFI Lan party UT NF4 Ultra
AMD Opteron 146 2.0 Mhz @ 2.8 GHz
OCZ Gold Edition 2x512 MB DDR 500 timing 2.5-3-3-8 @ DDR 560
XFX GeForce 7600 GT 256 Mb GDDR3
Antec Lanboy Mini Tower Case
Antec True Control 550W ATX2.0 PSU
Maxtor 300 GB 7200 RMP SATA 16Mb Cache
17\'\' TFT Screen 12 ms
MysticRose is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 09:29 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

not if you're not overclocking... Then the cores have such a small difference that they aren't a playing factor in the decision.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 09:58 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

i think this is enough information for your decision mate. without getting horribly technical there isn't much more to say. my suggestion though is if you can be patient enough get an X2. its worth it. they are mighty powerful as is, and we haven't even gotten to the stage where most software takes advantage of dual cores. this will leave you future proofed.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 02-07-2006, 01:09 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by nitestick
i think this is enough information for your decision mate. without getting horribly technical there isn't much more to say. my suggestion though is if you can be patient enough get an X2. its worth it. they are mighty powerful as is, and we haven't even gotten to the stage where most software takes advantage of dual cores. this will leave you future proofed.
Something about saying future proof in a computer tech related discussion seems odd to me... hmmm.

Heres my 2c
I honestly wouldnt get a dual core unless you multi task.
And i hate hearing dual core is future proof b/c there will be more and more dual core programs coming out. When those programs come out that utilize dual cores, will the operating frequency be outdated? perhaps and then its not future proof.
__________________

__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.