CPU Upgrade question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-27-2008, 05:30 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default CPU Upgrade question

Hi all,
Just looking for some advice regarding upgrading my cpu. At the moment my PC has an AMD Athlon 64 3400+ cpu. Is it possible to simply 'drop in' a new CPU? If so, what CPU would you recommend (I think id prefer an intel, not something exorbitant like an i7 extreme, but not cheap either). The reason I seek to upgrade is merely out of desire for everything to happen quicker (browser loading, booting, loading apps etc), not so much out of desire to play the new games available (although that would be nice). Will a CPU upgrade speed these things up? RAM isn't a problem because I have 1.5GB and peak mem usage never goes above 400mb. I am running XP.

Thanks everyone, RM
__________________

tothemax6 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 06:19 AM   #2 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: CPU Upgrade question

CPU upgrade will help, and you will have to get an AMD proc because mobos these days are either Intel-specific or AMD-specific. You can look up on Google what procs are compatible with your mobo. What are your system specs ?
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 06:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: CPU Upgrade question

What motherboard do you have? With the current proc you are running you either have a 939 (most likely) or AM2 socket. If you have a 939 you are pretty much going to need a new mb, proc and ram. If you have a am2 there may be options for you. You can run CPU-Z if you do not know your motherboard.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 06:31 AM   #4 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: CPU Upgrade question

That's right. As hefemeister points out, your CPU socket (and more broadly, your mobo ) is AMD-specific, as I pointed out. If you want an Intel proc you will need a motherboard that is designed for an Intel.
oldskool is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 07:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: CPU Upgrade question

OK I used dmidecode (im in ubuntu a.t.m.), and it says its using a 939 socket. I take it this means . Are there any new AMD cpus which would fit this and give good performance? Is Intel much better than AMD?

Thanks, RM

Edit: I spotted something interesting in the dmidecode log. It says:
Version: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 Processor 3400+
Voltage: 1.4 V
External Clock: 200 MHz
Max Speed: 3000 MHz
Current Speed: 2200 MHz
How might I set the processor to its max speed? Thanks
tothemax6 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 07:22 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: CPU Upgrade question

You need to overclock it in bios. Do you have a stock or after market cooler? If you have never overclocked I would recommend you start by reading here
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 08:22 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: CPU Upgrade question

OK well the bios doesn't provide any control of the CPU parameters. So no overclocking 4 me. Anyone know about new AMD Cpus for the 939 socket? Or do I have to make a new computer with an Intel motherboard.

Cheers, RM
tothemax6 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 08:39 PM   #8 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: CPU Upgrade question

You can still get Socket 939 CPU's, here are a few :

Shop AMD United States: Processor-In-a-Box

AMD is excellent, and has been sparring with Intel for years. Most recently (year or two) Intel has started to command the market again, but AMD is still aggressive, and makes excellent products still. There is not a huge difference in performance. It is more about what you personally think of AMD -vs - Intel, because out of 100 people here at this forum, +/- 50 would pick AMD over Intel and vice versa. Up to you what you want.
oldskool is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 09:53 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 10
Default Re: CPU Upgrade question

It looks like the best is a AMD Athlon X2 Dual-Core 4800+ then. I take it that if its dual core 2.4GHz, its twice as fast as a single core 2.4GHz? Will XP automatically use both the cores?

Thanks, RM
tothemax6 is offline  
Old 12-27-2008, 10:07 PM   #10 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: CPU Upgrade question

Quote:
Originally Posted by tothemax6 View Post
It looks like the best is a AMD Athlon X2 Dual-Core 4800+ then. I take it that if its dual core 2.4GHz, its twice as fast as a single core 2.4GHz?
No, I don't believe that is true.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tothemax6 View Post
Will XP automatically use both the cores?
XP will take care of you.
__________________

oldskool is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
CPU Temp question dhgunit Overclocking and Modding 6 11-06-2008 06:43 PM
The many versions of XP EricB Microsoft Windows and Software 6 10-26-2008 02:54 PM
Pc Overheating After Cpu Upgrade NABRIL System Upgrades 8 09-19-2008 10:36 AM
Considering CPU Upgrade Soon veg1992 New Systems | Building and Buying 28 09-07-2008 01:17 PM
Laptop hardware upgrade Simple question Hamuth Laptops and Notebooks 3 11-11-2007 12:47 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.