cpu upgrade question - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-19-2007, 07:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
soulafien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 128
Default cpu upgrade question

Hey all soulafien here.

Getting ready to replace my celeron 2.93 ghz with a p4 3.0

Here is my mobo

Motherboard Properties:
Motherboard ID 12/22/2005-P4M800CE-8237-6A7L6B09C-00
Motherboard Name Unknown

Front Side Bus Properties:
Bus Type Intel NetBurst
Bus Width 64-bit
Real Clock 133 MHz (QDR)
Effective Clock 533 MHz
Bandwidth 4266 MB/s

Memory Bus Properties:
Bus Type DDR SDRAM
Bus Width 64-bit

Chipset Bus Properties:
Bus Type VIA V-Link
Bus Width 8-bit
Real Clock 67 MHz (ODR)
Effective Clock 533 MHz
Bandwidth 533 MB/s


and cpu info

CPUID Properties:
CPUID Manufacturer GenuineIntel
CPUID CPU Name Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.93GHz
CPUID Revision 00000F41h
IA Brand ID 00h (Unknown)
Platform ID 0Fh (Socket 478)
IA CPU Serial Number Unknown
Microcode Update Revision 17
HTT / CMP Units 0 / 1

so am i correct in that i need a socket 478 cpu? I was told that some of these motherboards can take 478 or 779 cpus(i know sounds silly to me)just thought id ask before buying.

also will there be a noticeable difference in performance? I use this mostly for gaming.

thanks soulafien. ps is there a utility that i can download to see exactly what mobo i have cause theres no id on it that i can see.

Manufacturer: P4M80P
Processor: Intel(R) Celeron(R) CPU 2.93GHz, ~2.9GHz
Memory: 1534MB RAM
Hard Drive: 120 GB
Video Card: NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GS
Monitor: Gateway EV910
Sound Card: Sound Blaster Audigy
Speakers/Headphones:
Keyboard: USB Root Hub
Mouse: USB Root Hub
Mouse Surface:
Operating System: Windows 2000 Professional
__________________

soulafien is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 07:15 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
soulafien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 128
Default Re: cpu upgrade question

sorry forgot to post the cpu im going to buy

Model
Brand Intel
Processors Type Desktop
Series Pentium 4
Model NE80546PG0801M
CPU Socket Type
CPU Socket Type Socket 478
Tech Spec
Core Prescott
Multi-Core Single-Core
Name Pentium 4 3.0E
Operating Frequency 3.0GHz
FSB 800MHz
L1 Cache 12KB+16KB
L2 Cache 1MB
Manufacturing Tech 90 nm
Vista Ready Yes
64 bit Support No
Hyper-Threading Support Yes
Virtualization Technology Support No
Multimedia Instruction MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3
Voltage 1.25-1.4V
Cooling Device Cooling device not included - Processor Only

from newegg of course
__________________

soulafien is offline  
Old 04-19-2007, 07:44 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,307
Default Re: cpu upgrade question

You've got a 478, so the CPU you've picked out will work just fine.

As for you're actual motherboard model, I am guessing you have a pre-built computer (i.e. Dell, HP, Acer). You can go to the manufacturer's website and look up your specifications on your particular model in order to find out. Odds are it is a version of a standard production model of motherboard that has a crippled BIOS installed (to prevent overclocking), and possibly has had the graphics slot removed.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 01:13 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
soulafien's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 128
Default Re: cpu upgrade question

Actually my father in law built this comp fore me out of his spare parts(lol)

the mobo cpu vga combo he got for a whopping 99 dollars i think.

i added a gig of ram to take it up to a gig and a half 3200

i disabled the onboard video(wich was 64 mb)and replaced it with a evga geforce 7600gs 8x agp

im thinking that if i upgrade the cpu it should improve the framerate a bit

he cant remember where he got the mobo but it looks just like the biostar version or maybe even pc chips?
soulafien is offline  
Old 04-20-2007, 02:05 AM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: cpu upgrade question

use everest home to find out the motherboard specs................... perhaps you should start saving for a new pc some of your parts are a little old
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Case Fan Question Shafra Overclocking and Modding 10 04-18-2007 06:42 PM
Vista Upgrade? Saynt25 Microsoft Windows and Software 4 04-18-2007 04:48 PM
Cant burn to Imation 16x DVD-R!! Cant upgrade DVD-RW firmware either!! Rawan AbuSalman Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-17-2007 05:34 PM
Question for Upgrading XPS 400 Medium Lammy New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-14-2007 01:43 AM
Vista Upgrade Christon Microsoft Windows and Software 5 04-07-2007 12:59 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.