CPU Upgrade Problems. HELP! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2006, 08:57 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to CodeDelta16
Default CPU Upgrade Problems. HELP!

Ok, so I have a Sony Vaio about 3 years old, or less.

1.8 Ghz Pentium 4,
512 MB RAM,
Intel ASUS P4B266-LM V1.02
Etc. Etc.

Now I have upgraded the video card about a year ago to a GeForce FX 5500 AGP. (256) and I felt that what this computer REALLY needed was a CPU upgrade. So with great feats of Googlism; I discovered my mobo was a 486 socket mobo.

Enter, eBay/ therefore I purchased a 2.4 Ghz Pentium 4, 486 socket chip from a trusted seller (lots of high ratings) off ebay for about 80 bucks.

Now, i got all my tools, thermal compound, isypropyl, the works. EXITED< I stick in the new CPU hit the power butting (after the heat sync and fan plus PSU were re-mounted) and it boots just fine (i think) except nothing shows up on the screen. I replace the old chip; works fine. I put the new chip in, boots without screen. What's going on? Help?

OK so maybe I need a new BIOS? it's an Award Bios 1002. (I have submitted a bios request to award) will that help me? I really want this to work, any suggestions?

Thanks in advance.
-cD


UPDATE: I purchased a BIOS upgrade (49 bucks!) but when I went to install it i got an error message: Insufficient Memory. I tried doing the HIMEM.sys (or w/e) but couldn't find the right lines.
To late to call tech-support.
__________________

CodeDelta16 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 09:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

lol googlism , its socket 478 not 468 and its excited and heatsink

a bios update can defintly sort it out , usally you get it from the motherboard manufacturer site , or in your case from sony site cuz its an oem mobo and asus offers no support for it , and guess what? for free , see if you can find it on sony's site and if you cant then email their support and ask for it , if its not on the site & support wont give you it then youll have to buy a new mobo , each mobo basicly have a unique bios so a bios of X board wont fit to Y board

better give up on that update you got for 49$ , you cant know for sure if its indid for your mobo , if its not then 2 things can happen
1) it will just display a message that it aint compatible and wont flash
2) it will flash and will leave the mobo.. dead , youll see nothin on screen

if you still wanna try that update , then add these lines in config.sys
dos=high,umb
device=himem.sys /testmem:off
__________________

jeremy is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 09:54 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to CodeDelta16
Default

Thanks for the help, and the spell checker. I actually saw that but being to lazy to edit I did nothing about it.

I got my BIOS update from esupport.com did the whole download the program scan your computer custum update thing/submit request.

I guess i'll end up buying a new Mobo. Just ticks me off!

Since I will be going with a 478, not wanting to buy ANOTHER CPU I heard the Abit IC7 was good. What are your thoughts?

-cD
CodeDelta16 is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 10:28 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 1,533
Default

you welcome , the site looks well designed although still cant say for sure if the update you got from em is truly intended for that mobo , i suggest youll upload it to http://www.mytempdir.com ill have a look maybe ill be able to determine if its indid for that mobo

IMO the best s478 mobo is asus p4p800-e , i had a look in ebay found this
http://cgi.ebay.com/ASUS-P4P800-E-Mo...QQcmdZViewItem
only 56$ including a P4 3GHZ processor , if your gonna go for it better ask if it includes the back plate
jeremy is offline  
Old 04-24-2006, 11:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to CodeDelta16
Default

being basically computer-spending broke has it's drawbacks. Not only did I buy the CPU but i bought a Raidmax X-1 off e-bay too. Can't wait for that bad boy to come in.
-cD
CodeDelta16 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:16 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 408
Send a message via AIM to neweyedeya18
Default

[QUOTE]Originally posted by jeremy
[B]lol googlism , its socket 478 not 468 and its excited and heatsink


he said 486... but who's really checking right? hahaha
__________________
neweyedeya18 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 12:39 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 25
Send a message via AIM to CodeDelta16
Default

486, 478, 468, 939, LGA775 whatever, as long as when I plug the sucker in it doesn't go KABOOM.

Look ma, no fire extiguisher! Hey wait a minute, that's not funny.
Nevermind.
-cD
CodeDelta16 is offline  
Old 04-25-2006, 01:00 PM   #8 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 237
Default

g00gle is king.
__________________

Tordenskjold is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.