cpu upgrade problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2011, 10:44 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default cpu upgrade problems

hello all

i'm upgrading a budget build and i'm having all sorts of problems with the upgrade to a more powerful CPU.

the mobo is an ASUS M2N-SLI and the old CPU is a basic single core AMD. the new cpu is an AMD Athlon II X4 640 Processor (ADX640WFGMBOX). before buying i checked on the ASUS site and saw that the CPU is supported. i updated the BIOS and i can get the system to post with the old CPU (post BIOS update) but it will not post with the new CPU (in fact, it does nothing). i checked the new CPU and there are no bent pins or any other obvious signs of damage. any ideas?

thanks in advance
__________________

little a is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 10:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default Re: cpu upgrade problems

quick follow-up: just in case, the power supply is fairly new and obviously working as it should (it works with the old CPU) and has more than enough power to handle the new setup.
__________________

little a is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 11:20 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: cpu upgrade problems

Quote:
Support AMDŽ Socket AM2+/ AM2 Phenom FX(2000MT/s)/Phenom(2000MT/s)/ Athlon 64 X2 / Athlon 64 FX / Athlon 64/ Sempron
Nowhere in there says an Athlon II. And that is an AM2 board. Your new CPU is for a AM3 board. I'm afraid your new CPU will not work unless you get a newer AM3 board.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 11:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default Re: cpu upgrade problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Nowhere in there says an Athlon II. And that is an AM2 board. Your new CPU is for a AM3 board. I'm afraid your new CPU will not work unless you get a newer AM3 board.
thanks for looking in on my mess

this is the cpu support list for my mobo

and this is the detail on the CPU i'm trying to install

did i completely goof?
little a is offline  
Old 10-05-2011, 11:39 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: cpu upgrade problems

Still, that's not possible. An AM2 board and a AM3 CPU is not compatible.

ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Motherboards- ASUS M2N-SLI

This is what I get. I don't know how you got yours. Think that is a general page. Look on the product page, as I did.

I'm afraid you messed up. Unless I am wrong....
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 01:25 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default Re: cpu upgrade problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
Still, that's not possible. An AM2 board and a AM3 CPU is not compatible.

ASUSTeK Computer Inc. - Motherboards- ASUS M2N-SLI

This is what I get. I don't know how you got yours. Think that is a general page. Look on the product page, as I did.

I'm afraid you messed up. Unless I am wrong....
i got it from the same page you cited above, if you search for 640 on that page you linked you will see the same page i posted.
little a is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 07:24 AM   #7 (permalink)
ninja troll
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Maine
Posts: 1,019
Default Re: cpu upgrade problems

by going by the full product model #, and not just 640, it would appear that they are different cpus

ADX640WFGMBOX
ADX640WFGMBOX - Google Search

ADX640WFK42GM
ADX640WFK42GM - Google Search
__________________
Intel Core i5-2500K
ASUS P8Z68-V LE LGA 1155 Intel Z68
Corsair 550VX
1Tb Samsung Spinpoint F3
1Tb WD Caviar Green
2Tb WD Caviar Green
8gb DDR3 Corsair Vengeance 1600
Sapphire Radeon 6870


jasonalwaysready is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 09:32 AM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: cpu upgrade problems

I know for a fact that an AM3 CPU does not work with an AM2 board. It says in the specifications, I do not see Athlon II. I go by specification only, that is your best bet for any upgrades.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 09:51 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default Re: cpu upgrade problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by jasonalwaysready View Post
by going by the full product model #, and not just 640, it would appear that they are different cpus

ADX640WFGMBOX
ADX640WFGMBOX - Google Search

ADX640WFK42GM
ADX640WFK42GM - Google Search
according to CPU-world.com they are the same processor but one is boxed and the other is an OEM/tray microprocessor
little a is offline  
Old 10-06-2011, 10:24 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default Re: cpu upgrade problems

Quote:
Originally Posted by MindoverMaster View Post
I know for a fact that an AM3 CPU does not work with an AM2 board. It says in the specifications, I do not see Athlon II. I go by specification only, that is your best bet for any upgrades.
hmm - i'm not sure what you mean ("in the specifications"), this cpu is listed as supported by ASUS on the site for my mobo. i know the sockets are different but it plainly says it is supported. (i appreciate the help, not trying to be a pain, just trying to understand your point) what am i missing?
__________________

little a is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ubuntu upgrade problems once again Greg Linux and Open Source 9 11-21-2006 10:42 PM
CPU Upgrade Problems. HELP! CodeDelta16 System Upgrades 7 04-25-2006 01:00 PM
Bios upgrade with problems stang2009 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 01-26-2005 12:31 AM
RAM Upgrade Problems!!! SMPTX Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 01-25-2005 02:55 PM
mem upgrade= sound problems IPstndg Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 1 04-10-2004 11:36 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:41 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.