CPU upgrade am i right? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-09-2012, 06:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Default CPU upgrade am i right?

hi guys i just bought a new VAIO and its got a Core i3 M370 @ 2.40 GHz i also bought a second hand Core i7-720QM @ 1.6 GHz according to passmark/benchmark the i7 is nearly 50% better than the i3

I just wanted to know how accurate are there marks and basically a second opinion before i actually change it in case im making a mistake

also if there might be any other problems that i might encounter when fitting or restarting after fitting that i haven't thought of i have repalced plenty of parts on laptops in the past but have never done a cpu before and i dont wana mess it up

Cheers
Conor
__________________

Conman is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 09:20 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: CPU upgrade am i right?

What is your exact model? You may not be able to pump it up that much.
__________________

__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 09:34 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: CPU upgrade am i right?

ita a Sony vaio VPCEB3E9E it has 8GB ram and 64Bit windows which is all i was after really just want to make sure the machine its on is able to handle i'm not really after a mad fast machine i just want a good machine at a budget price

next problem is that i bought on ebay and got a bargain and it arrived with one of the mouse buttons not working and the fella is wanting me to return all sooner than have a new mouse pad sent out to me because he knows he'll get more if he re'lists it are there any good sites for second hand sony laptop parts??

cheers
conor
Conman is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 09:40 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: CPU upgrade am i right?

Sony Outlet & Refurbished Products | Sony | Sony Store USA

That's what you get with eBay. You never know what you are getting.
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 10:23 AM   #5 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU upgrade am i right?

To put a i7 int6o an i3, youre going to have power issues, AND more importantly heat issues
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 12:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: CPU upgrade am i right?

ok what kind of power issues what will it do? will there not be enough power to run the i7? is there any solution

as for heat will it definitely be an issue? are there any solutions to it like better heat sink or fans? that will work in my machine? surely there has been i7's put in vaio's before

and if i was to ignore the above warning would it be a new computer i'd be looking for or a matter of replacing the i7 with the i3 if start to notice problems?
Conman is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 12:49 PM   #7 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU upgrade am i right?

As its a laptop, its either you will or won't...

35W vs 45W maybe more than your laptop can handle.

Check what power adapters each come with.

Also, the Sony BIOS might not recognize the i7... You really need alot more research.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 01:07 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: CPU upgrade am i right?

from what research i have done on it (not much to be honest) the only problems that every one seems to mention are the socket type and how to apply the thermal paste socket type's correct and the i7 is for a laptop(not desktop) and i have thermal paste nobody has mentioned any thing about power adapters
as for the BIOS any that i have seen done or heard of being done the bios picked it up its self on restart but they were different models of i3/i5/i7 processors and laptop combos but on each one it was an i for an i and no BIOS problems but then the people that feck it up probably dont tell to many lol
Conman is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 02:42 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 5
Default Re: CPU upgrade am i right?

agh Crap!!

done some more reading and got lots of people saying no and lots of reasons why so i think i'll be puttin it back on fleebay (any one else ever get the feel the ebay and paypal are the only earners from 80% of the stuff on there??)
Conman is offline  
Old 02-09-2012, 03:43 PM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: CPU upgrade am i right?

Yup... Isnt that their offical slogan?

I know abit about this switch idea, as i wanted to do it with my t5600 a quad.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To upgrade CPU/RAM or to not upgrade? relikpL System Upgrades 10 12-03-2010 02:42 AM
CPU upgrade. Abstract Hero New Systems | Building and Buying 8 11-27-2010 11:39 PM
Dell 640m CPU upgrade? T2250 to which CPU? vikenk Laptops and Notebooks 3 01-14-2010 08:58 PM
CPU upgrade or RAM upgrade klein1jo System Upgrades 12 01-01-2007 10:45 PM
CPU upgrade damasta55r New Systems | Building and Buying 0 08-24-2005 11:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.