CPU upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-19-2006, 04:03 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 107
Default CPU upgrade

hi all

still on the hunt for a CPU replacement for my vaio notebook rebuild.

this is an old machine and although it still works well, it's pretty slow at 733mghz (PIII). i'm looking for an alternative CPU to upgrade. the current specs of the PIII in it are:

socket 478
1.6Volts
24.6 watts
internal clock speed 533 mghz

what's the worst thing that could happen if i get an off the shelf CPU like this one?

better yet, anybody have any ideas as to finding something else that might fit (even if its only a little faster, say 1.0ghz)? TIA

a
__________________

little a is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 05:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 640
Send a message via AIM to schulz269
Default

it really woudln't make much of a differnt from that cpu 733mhz then a 1ghz cpu what you should do is call them and see what available compatible cpus u can use with that computer
__________________

__________________
IMG]http://img213.imageshack.us/img213/9546/venomcopycghkcgto8.png[/IMG]
Heatware:
http://www.heatware.com/eval.php?id=47066
schulz269 is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 06:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

Pentium 3's aren't Socket 478, they're either Slot 1 or Socket 370
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 07:51 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Do laptops use slots?
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 08:09 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

it has to be socket 370. Slot one is huge. No way that sucker could fit in a laptop. You can get a pretty zippy high-clocked celeron. The best you're gonna do at a REASONABLE cost is about 1ghz. They go up to 1.3 if I'm not mistaken, but the price is crazy.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 08:59 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

confirmed: pIII is only slot1 and s370. i would just be on the look out for a 1ghz PIII.

edit: i think they used to use slot1 cpu's horizontally, i know its a horrible idea but i think they did it.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 01-19-2006, 09:23 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

They're going for like 25-50 bucks on e-bay. If you downgrade to like an 866, they're way cheaper. But then on the other hand, a few mhz wouldn't be much of a difference.

Ryan
__________________

__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.