cpu upgrade ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-10-2014, 07:05 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default cpu upgrade ?

my son thinks i am crazy, that i just need to replace my aging desktop. but i can not get him a new gaming computer and replace mine at the same time. my computer has an Intel core duo E63001.86 Ghz processor, and i am thinking about changing to a Intel core duo E6850 3.00 Ghz processor. i can do so for under $20.00, i am thinking it will make quite a bit if difference, am i right? or is it like he says, a waste of time? also, they are both 65watt, so i am thinking that the same heat exchanger could be used. yes or no?



__________________

XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 07:18 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,078
Default Re: cpu upgrade ?

If your board will support the E6850 then I don't see any problems with doing that,going from a 1.86 to a 3.0 processor for $20. isn't a bad price for that much upgrade. It probably won't improve your gaming much. You'll need to look at your GPU for that
What brand name, model and revision number is your motherboard? If you have a store bought pc then your chances of up grading your cpu might be slim
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 09:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: cpu upgrade ?

it IS a store bought computer. a HP a1720n. the mother board is an asus p5lp-le, the specs are here....



it looks to me like it will work, but i am as much of a computer expert as your garbage man is a physicist.
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 09:16 AM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: cpu upgrade ?

sorry, i messed all kinds of things up, i will repost in a couple of minutes
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 09:17 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
XWrench3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: W. MICHIGAN
Posts: 749
Default Re: cpu upgrade ?

ok, here is the link to the motherboard specs.

http://h10025.www1.hp.com/ewfrf/wc/d...40228&sw_lang=
XWrench3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 09:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,078
Default Re: cpu upgrade ?

It's very difficult to say if this upgrade will work. You will need to flash your bios first, and then try and see.
from the little bit of research I've done, it looks like the E6700 does work but I can't find anybody attempting to use an E 6850
cpu upgrade pavilion a1720n - HP Support Forum - 623019
the E6300 has a code name Wolfdale and the E6850 has a different code name Conroe, which could be an issue

If this is your only pc, then I can not recommend you "experiment" on this. Flashing your bios can brick (kill) your motherboard if something does not go right, and there's always a possibility of causing the board to fail just by handling it alone. Live with what you have and save up to get a new pc and then you can afford to experiment with this pc
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 11:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: cpu upgrade ?

They should both be Conroe, I know the E6300 is because it was the first batch of Intel's greatness being released. IIRC the E6850 is the non-xtreme newer version of the X6800. Wolfdale and Yorkfield are 45nm CPUs. (E8400 Q9550 ect)
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 12:03 PM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,078
Default Re: cpu upgrade ?

PP is correct, they are both Conroe cpu's.
here is a spec sheet of each cpu that you can compare with
E6300:
CPU-Upgrade: Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 CPU
E6850:
CPU-Upgrade: Intel Core 2 Duo E6850 CPU
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 12:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,317
Default Re: cpu upgrade ?

According to HP it shouldn't work since they don't have *50 on there.

Motherboard Specifications, P5LP-LE (Leonite) | HP® Support
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-10-2014, 01:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 3,078
Default Re: cpu upgrade ?

You can get an E6700 cpu and I have seen on line that this cpu will work on your motherboard. It's a $15. cpu over here:
Intel Core 2 Duo E6700 SL9ZF 2 66GHz 4MB 1066MHz Socket LGA775 Dual Core CPU | eBay
__________________

Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
To upgrade CPU/RAM or to not upgrade? relikpL System Upgrades 10 12-03-2010 02:42 AM
Dell 640m CPU upgrade? T2250 to which CPU? vikenk Laptops and Notebooks 3 01-14-2010 08:58 PM
CPU upgrade or RAM upgrade klein1jo System Upgrades 12 01-01-2007 10:45 PM
to upgrade or to not upgrade? liquidmonkey New Systems | Building and Buying 14 04-13-2006 11:41 PM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.