cpu upgrade - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-29-2010, 04:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 29
Default cpu upgrade

i've read reviews but im hoping to get a little input before i buy.

deciding between;

phenom ii x3 740 3.0ghz - Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X3 740 Black Edition Heka 3.0GHz 3 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 95W Triple-Core Desktop Processor HDZ740WFK3DGI - Processors - Desktops
and
athlon ii x4 640 3.0ghz - Amazon.com: AMD Athlon II X4 640 Propus 3.0 GHz 4x512 KB L2 Cache Socket AM3 95W Quad-Core Processor - Retail ADX640WFGMBOX: Electronics

dont know if i should sacrafice a core for L3 cache basicaly.

general usage and some gaming. if any other recommenations in same price range let me know.
__________________

Axxion V is offline  
Old 09-29-2010, 10:33 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: cpu upgrade

If you use a motherboard that has ACC or "core unlocking" you may be able to unlock the fourth core on the x3. There is no guaranty, both most unlock just fine. If it doesn't you will still have a Black Edition x3 with the full 6MB L3 cache.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 09-30-2010, 01:54 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 29
Default Re: cpu upgrade

thanks trotter. i do not think i'll be unlocking. my board is a foxconn m61pmv and it has a limited bios. so lets just say im useing them stock, you would still go for the x3? i cant find anything online comparing the two cpu's.
Axxion V is offline  
Old 09-30-2010, 02:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,303
Default Re: cpu upgrade

Running stock and no unlocking? Go with the Athlon II x4 then. The cache would be nice, but the fourth core will serve you better. Heck, we did fine without L3 for years and years.
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is online now  
Old 09-30-2010, 05:48 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 25
Default Re: cpu upgrade

Yep, I'd recommend the x4 too if you don't plan on unlocking or anything.
TristanPerry is offline  
Old 09-30-2010, 03:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 29
Default Re: cpu upgrade

great, athlon ii x4 640 purchased! thanks for the input!
Axxion V is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 08:21 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 29
Default Re: cpu upgrade

ok today i put in my new x4 640. all is well except, my ram is running at 400mhz. specs as follows.

athlon ii x4 640
2x2 4gb ocz platinum ddr2 1066
foxconn m61pmv am2+
kingwin 610w
sapphire hd 4870

theres only a few options in bios. auto and maxmemclock. i set it to maxmemclock 1066 but its still at 800. could only up voltage by .05, i've tried that and nothing. any ideas?
Axxion V is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 08:40 PM   #8 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: cpu upgrade

DO you have AMD Cool N Quiet turned on? Since you upgraded you may have reset some features.

In your bios turn Cool N Quiet off and you're clocks should go back up.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 10-05-2010, 09:22 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Bakersfield, CA
Posts: 29
Default Re: cpu upgrade

cool n' quiet is turned off. my ram must have a voltage of 2.1v to run at 1066. i do not know what the voltage is exactly but, i am only able to raise it .05 above default value. therefor i do not think i am able to achieve the 2.1v required to run at 1066.
__________________

Axxion V is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows 7 $30 upgrade, only a upgrade? Raven206 Microsoft Windows and Software 8 10-22-2009 07:56 PM
Want to upgrade to dx10 card...should I upgrade anything? ShifterControl New Systems | Building and Buying 1 10-21-2007 05:37 PM
upgrade proccessor or upgrade ram? j12 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 11-11-2006 07:16 PM
hmm...to upgrade slightly, or to upgrade seriously? dartgande New Systems | Building and Buying 8 04-17-2006 03:36 AM
If i upgrade my processor i think i need to upgrade my power supply Too! MADWAD New Systems | Building and Buying 6 09-29-2005 01:38 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.