CPU Temp - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-27-2006, 01:50 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default CPU Temp

My CPU Temp is 47-50 normal, and about 58-60 under load. Is this anything to worry about? Also, if it isnt a bad temp, then what temp is something i should start worrying at.
__________________

__________________
  • AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
  • MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum nForce3 Ultra
  • TwinMos 1GB PC3200 Dual Channel
  • HIS Excalibur ATI Radeon X800 XL ICEQII 256MB
  • Dell 19\" UltraSharp TFT
  • Razer Diaomondback
  • Pioneer DVD-RW
  • Asus TA-210 Case
http://www.ko-clan.net/Fury_Sig.jpg
fury36 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 01:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default

the heck thats kinda high im using stock heatsink and i idle at 30c full load 40-45c and thats without any thermal paste. Maybe buy a new heatsink?
__________________

__________________
Rundat is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 02:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 132
Default

Im deffenetly going to do that soon. But do i need to worry atm?
__________________
  • AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
  • MSI K8N Neo2 Platinum nForce3 Ultra
  • TwinMos 1GB PC3200 Dual Channel
  • HIS Excalibur ATI Radeon X800 XL ICEQII 256MB
  • Dell 19\" UltraSharp TFT
  • Razer Diaomondback
  • Pioneer DVD-RW
  • Asus TA-210 Case
http://www.ko-clan.net/Fury_Sig.jpg
fury36 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 02:06 PM   #4 (permalink)
Off Topic *****
 
Rundat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 265
Default

no i dont think so
__________________
Rundat is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 03:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi
Default

it's not an emergency... but that's really high. I run at about 32 in a warm room idle, and under load about 44.

Ryan
__________________

<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb


Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 04:24 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

Quote:
the heck thats kinda high im using stock heatsink and i idle at 30c full load 40-45c and thats without any thermal paste. Maybe buy a new heatsink?
Why arent you using any thermal paste.

Quote:
it's not an emergency... but that's really high. I run at about 32 in a warm room idle, and under load about 44.
Yea I agree. Athlons max temp is something like 65*C so your alright for now, but get better cooling.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 06:38 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 405
Default

get some better airflow through your case & some Arctic Silver 5, a new HSF is a last resort
__________________
The_Tobes99 is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 08:04 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 458
Default

i usually hover around 37-39 idle (amd 3700+) and 41-45 load, ur ambient room temperature will have a big affect on this temperature. So if ur in a really hot room, dont expect the temperature to get too low with air cooling.
__________________
Intel E8400
Zalman 9500AT
evga 8800gt dual-slot cooler
4gig (2x2gb)g.skill ddr2 1066
gigabyte p43-ds3L
Antec sonata II mid tower
200gb Seagate HDD, 500gb Seagate HDD, 1TB Seagate HDD
bkolk is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 09:51 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 378
Send a message via AIM to Anphrax
Default

is that degrees F? I idle at 40-50 F.... dunno
__________________
Sig privileges back.

I love you sig santa :D
Anphrax is offline  
Old 01-27-2006, 09:53 PM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Anphrax
is that degrees F? I idle at 40-50 F.... dunno
i think your mixed up.. 40F is close to freezing lol. you mean 40-50C
__________________

__________________
eVGA NForce4 ATX SLI AMD Mobo
AMD Athlon 64 3700+ San Diego
eVGA GeForce 7800GT 256MB
Corsair Ram 1GB (2x512)
NEC DVD Burner
Western Digital 160GB Hard Drive






biggjoee5790 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.