CPU speed and total RAM? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-10-2010, 04:09 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default CPU speed and total RAM?

Does a more powerfull CPU require more RAM than a less power CPU of the same brand model etc? For instance if I was to put an Intel core 2 Quad 8300 at 2.5GHz would it use less more or the same amount of RAM than the Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 at 2.6GHz?

And while we are talking about CPU's could someone tell me if the difference in price between these 2 CPU's is worth the extra investment?

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 Socket LGA775 processor £158.99

Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 Socket LGA775 processor - Misco.co.uk

Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 Socket LGA775 Processor £114.99

Intel Core 2 Quad Q8300 Socket LGA775 Processor - Misco.co.uk
__________________

__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 04:38 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: NC
Posts: 612
Default Re: CPU speed and total RAM?

The price difference is worth it, and no different processors do not require more RAM?

The more expensive processor is higher clocked, but not only that, it has a 6Mb L2 cache vs the cheaper processor's 4Mb L2 cache.
__________________

__________________
__________________________________________________ ____________________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
orihS ‪‪‪Shiro is offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 04:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: CPU speed and total RAM?

The amount of RAM and what the speed of your CPU have nothing to do with each other in that way.

Personally I'd go for the Q9400. The Q9s are much better than the Q8 series.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 05:07 PM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: CPU speed and total RAM?

So then it's not just a 0.1GHz increase in speed the actual CPU is a better CPU overall then?

Can you also just confirm whether or not the second CPU is actually a decent CPU or not as well if you don't mind.
__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 05:19 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,772
Default Re: CPU speed and total RAM?

Things like the increase in cache tend to give a much greater performance boost than an increase in clock speed.

Really depends on what you mean by 'decent.' I'd much rather have my dual-core E8400 than a Q8400 (they're more different than they sound).

However, now considering the fairly big price difference, I would go for the Q8400 - it really depends on how much you're willing to spend.

Depending on what you're upgrading from, it would probably be better to save for an i5 system than to spend any money on an LGA775 CPU.
__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 05:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: CPU speed and total RAM?

I believe he is on the Pentium E2000 series

depending on what you think is lacking, overall system responsiveness? gaming performance? video, audio encoding, trans-coding? a cpu upgrade may or may not change much
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 03-10-2010, 05:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: CPU speed and total RAM?

I currently have a E2200 2.2GHz and the reason I am looking to buy a new CPU is because I don't have the money to buy a new PC so this needs to last a few more years. I have recently installed windows 7 64 bit and I have noticed that when I am typing I am getting a bit of a lag in the time it takes for the letters to appear, it is also a bit of a slug when it comes to booting up. I know the CPU that I am looking at putting in aint going to make my PC a powerfull gaming rig but I hope it will make it a more pleasant and responsive machine, I want my PC to be a bit more responsive thats about it really.
__________________

__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Intel i7 Overclocking Ulquiorra Schiffer Overclocking and Modding 37 06-06-2009 05:04 PM
Guide: Overclocking The i7 H4x3r Overclocking and Modding 17 05-13-2009 12:27 PM
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
An Extensive Guide: Maximizing Performance, Minimizing Budget Sora New Systems | Building and Buying 42 08-23-2008 06:35 PM
How can I test the CPU speed? soarwitheagles Overclocking and Modding 1 08-17-2008 06:09 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.