CPU Questions - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-07-2008, 08:52 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
Default CPU Questions

Hey guys i've got a simple question and i feel bad cause i didn't do a search but i'm at work and don't really have time to search.

i'm looking at building a new pc, my motherboard supports ddr3 1333, now my question is does my CPU FSB have to be 1333 as well to support that ram?

thanks in advance for letting me know this.

turlisk is offline  
Old 11-07-2008, 07:20 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: CPU Questions


but it will just under-clock the ram if the cpu doesnt support fsb1333

RichM499 is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 02:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
saltynay's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: CPU Questions

You don't need a 1:1 ratio most people get (pc2-6400) 800mhz ram as its the best performance/ price range and is more then fast enough for the home enthusiast user. If those benchmark score help you gain inches on your genitalia then get 1066mhz (pc2-8500) ram notice its still DDR2. There is NO point (imo) getting DDR3 RAM atm as a home user which is what your implying. 1333mhz ram is at the lower end of the DDR3 spectrum so is often superceeded in ability by expensive (but cheaper then DDR3) DDR2 sets, due to the DDR2 sticks having better CAS-latencies therefore being better for overclocking which is the whole reason why you get faster then PC2-5400 ram for overclocking and stability.
saltynay is offline  
Old 11-13-2008, 02:17 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
stalin90's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Kansas
Posts: 1,371
Default Re: CPU Questions

Originally Posted by turlisk View Post

i'm looking at building a new pc, my motherboard supports ddr3 1333, now my question is does my CPU FSB have to be 1333 as well to support that ram?
simple answer no.

ur motherboard will just set a ram:fsb divider ratio its fine. but i still wouldnt get ddr3 1333, ive seen ddr2 1066 outperform it.

- INTEL Q6700 @ 3.2 - ASUS P5Q Pro - EVGA 9800GTX - 4GB Patriot Viper @ 1066 -
stalin90 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Computer without CPU fan? lazycat Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 10-27-2008 11:01 PM
Couple Motherboard CPU Questions Tisoraku System Upgrades 14 10-27-2008 12:41 AM
Looking to get a new GFX Card and possibly a CPU... What cooling would I need? EliteScouter Overclocking and Modding 17 04-19-2008 10:20 PM
Faulty motherboard or CPU! Plz Help! electricsashimi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 03-19-2008 08:59 PM
3 CPU Temperatures... 2 cores 1 CPU? commandercup Overclocking and Modding 9 03-13-2008 12:05 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:19 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.