CPU processor trouble - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-11-2013, 12:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: virginia
Posts: 2
Default CPU processor trouble

First off, im running Linux Mint 12, im also new to Linux making everything much more complicated. I have always played a lot of games on my computer and recently purchaced a laptop with intentions to upgrade it. My processor seems to not be able to handle much of my computing needs, and im looking to replace it.

Toshiba Satellite C655D-S5509
AMD E-300 APU with RADEON HD graphics

Would anyone be able to help me by providing the imformation I need, in order to choose a processor that will work with my computer? I dont know the specs, im sure they are somewhere on the internet.

Im not sure which specs have to match from my current processor to an upgrade besides the socket. Maybe someone who has the same computer
__________________

sacrifyse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 12:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: CPU processor trouble

When you buy a laptop you are pretty much stuck with the specs you purchase which is why we stress the need for self built PCs due to this situation. In your case I believe the APU is soldered on to the board so there isn't any hope of actually replacing or upgrading. The graphics unit is part of the APU so you can't upgrade that either.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: virginia
Posts: 2
Default Re: CPU processor trouble

what about overclocking it. I followed several linux/debian tutorials and the one that finally worked wouldnt change the speed, or show me the fan speed
sacrifyse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 01:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,277
Default Re: CPU processor trouble

I'm afraid you are kinda screwed there too. If you were on Windows I could say try the AMD Overdrive tool but I doubt that would work either.

You have to understand the AMD E series is much like Intel's Atom CPUs. They aren't meant to get hot or pull a lot of power. That being said, overclocking from a technical standpoint is out of the question. The cooling solution and VRMs wouldn't be up to the task even if you could.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-11-2013, 05:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
steve10765's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 635
Default Re: CPU processor trouble

I would try to send it back and get a desktop if you want to upgrade in the future
__________________
Intel i5 4640 - XFX R9 280
Corsair Vengeance 8GB - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB Seasonic 620W PSU
steve10765 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.