CPU to match my GPU! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-17-2006, 06:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 100
Default CPU to match my GPU!

Hello ive done as much research as i could about matching your cpu to get the best performance out of you gpu. I understand that your cpu can be decent enough to get the max performance out of your gpu.

My question is, i will buy a X1800XT 256mb pci express gpu and i want to know what cpu will give me the maximum performance out of this video card. I do not want to buy a cpu that will only give me half of what this gpu can do. Dual core is out of the question, for me. And i want soemthing around 100 or so if possible.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102008

I was thinking a AMD Athlon 64 3200+ Venice possibly? But i have doubts about it being able to fufill my needs. (being able to give me the max performance out of my video card)

This will be running on a Asus Pci Express mobo socket 939 also with 1 gb or ram.

Any comments are appreciated,
Thank You.
__________________

__________________
Bryan.
blewandowski_69 is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 07:23 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

There is no need to find a CPU that will give you max performance out of your GPU..... Any CPU that you could purchase from a brick & mortar store, or an online NEW IN BOX retailer, will be fine... The bottleneck is the GPU itself, and the interface between the CPU & GPU....

So, yes, ANY Socket 939 or AM2 CPU that you get would 'give full potential of GPU'
__________________

__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 09:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
aliasaid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,400
Default

thats not nec. true...

i'm sure if i put a 7800gs in my k6 500mhz it won't run that great..

the gpu and cpu do different things.. so the processor you get won't really affect the gpu's performance.. as long as its in the 3000+ and over range, you should be ok.
__________________
"Is virtue a thing remote? I wish to be virtuous, and lo! Virtue is at hand." -Confucius
aliasaid is offline  
Old 07-17-2006, 09:24 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,246
Default

BUT an even faster CPU will help in game loading times, and other things, so you will always gain from spending more on a fast CPU.
WorldIndustries is offline  
Old 07-18-2006, 06:00 PM   #5 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by aliasaid
thats not nec. true...

i'm sure if i put a 7800gs in my k6 500mhz it won't run that great..

the gpu and cpu do different things.. so the processor you get won't really affect the gpu's performance.. as long as its in the 3000+ and over range, you should be ok.
I know, that is why I specified that any CPU that could be purchased at a reputable retailer would be more than suitable... I HIGHLY doubt 500Mhz K6 CPU's are commonplace NEW IN BOX....
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.