CPU... Heatsink... no termal paste?? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-04-2006, 08:32 PM   #11 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
GuitarFreak1857's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,847
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
Some heatsinks ship with thermal paste i hope you know
yep, my VF900 came with thermal paste but i used AS5 instead.
__________________

__________________
My Gaming Desktop
Abit IP35-E

Intel Core2 Duo E8400 (Thermalright Ultra-120)
Mushkin 2x2GB DDR800 RAM

eVGA GeForce 8800GTS
Creative X-Fi Gamer Edition
Western Digital Caviar 250GB 7,200RPM
Western Digital Caviar 640GB 7,200RPM
OCZ 720W ModStream
Lian Li PC-7A
Windows XP Professional x64 Edition
GuitarFreak1857 is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:04 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Kdar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default

It had rubber thermal pad underneath... I just wasn't sure if its ack like thermalpaste.. so

When I put all together tempeture were pretty good.
__________________

Kdar is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 103
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by PZEROFGH
Some heatsinks ship with thermal paste i hope you know
I was talking about the stock ones that the CPU comes with

Quote:
My amd came with a pad of thermal paste stuck right on the CPU out of the Retail Box
I think you mean a thermal pad. If it was thermal paste then you'd have to clean it off and apply new thermal paste before installing the CPU.
Frank Jaeger is offline  
Old 05-04-2006, 09:52 PM   #14 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,306
Send a message via AIM to Brtnboarder495
Default

Umm yea ... I know that if you bought a retail processor from AMD or Intel ... it has to have thermal paste on it. It may not look like "paste", it's a VERY thin layer (typically grey colored) on AMD's, and it's obviously on the square-shaped area where it comes in contact with the CPU.

But AS5 is better then any stock stuff (I wonder why AMD or Intel just hasn't started using AS5? It's cheap and obviously does the job a lot better)
Brtnboarder495 is offline  
Old 05-06-2006, 12:15 AM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

Quote:
I think you mean a thermal pad. If it was thermal paste then you'd have to clean it off and apply new thermal paste before installing the CPU.
considering i'm pretty sure AMD haven't used thermal pads since the athlon XP days i would be willing to bet money that it is thermal paste. its called shin-etsu and it is indeed a thermal paste applied in a square. if it were a true thermal pad (paraffin wax based) you would sure know about it because despite the difficulty some people have removing stock HSF's as it is it would be a heck of a lot harder.
__________________

Nitestick is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.