CPU heatsink - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2016, 03:35 AM   #21 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ROFL_A_PIGGY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California, USA
Posts: 103
Default Re: CPU heatsink

SEE EDIT
Ok so I tried booting up my computer but I'm getting a CPU temperature error (too hot). One of the hoses is very warm, the other is pretty cool. The unit that sits on top of the CPU is very warm.

The fan seems to be working, and it is also very loud and makes a high pitched noise.

The fan is plugged into a 3-pin fan plug on the motherboard.

In the BIOS the cpu was at like 85 degrees..

Any ideas?

EDIT:
Rofl the unit that sits on top of the cpu wasn't even plugged in.. I don't see any available fan plugs on the motherboard, I might try unplug one and put the unit into that plug for now.

Would you guys make the fan an intake or an outtake fan?

DOUBLE EDIT:
It seems to be working well now. On idle the cpu temps are in the low 30s. I currently have it as an intake fan. I need to take a look at all my fans to see what they're doing because I'm pretty sure my top fan is unplugged (it used to make a lot of noise). I'll keep monitoring my temps.

TRIPLE EDIT:
the fan gets pretty noisy. The speed keeps going up and down under load, which makes it very noisy (sounds kinda like a weed whacker). Any ideas?
__________________

ROFL_A_PIGGY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 07:27 AM   #22 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: CPU heatsink

You need to set the pump on the CPU fan header and set it to max, then put the radiator fan as an exhaust blowing air through the rad and out of your case. Now put the radiator fan on a fan header that can be controlled by your motherboard and give it a set speed so it doesn't fluctuate.

Also, I really hope you changed the stock TIM to something better.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 05:25 PM   #23 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ROFL_A_PIGGY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California, USA
Posts: 103
Default Re: CPU heatsink

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
You need to set the pump on the CPU fan header and set it to max, then put the radiator fan as an exhaust blowing air through the rad and out of your case. Now put the radiator fan on a fan header that can be controlled by your motherboard and give it a set speed so it doesn't fluctuate.

Also, I really hope you changed the stock TIM to something better.
I went into the BIOS but I don't see any options allowing me to control fan speed. My BIOS is an Asus Express Gate I believe.

What does TIM stand for? EDIT: I did a search and TIM is thermal compound? I kept the stock one on there but I could go in and remove it and put on Arctic Silver 5 that I have from 2009 if that's better.

So for setting the fan as an exhaust, does it go fan -> radiator -> case? Or do I just flip the fan and keep it as radiator -> fan -> case? For the first one, I don't see how it works because the fan is held in place by screws going through it and screwing into the radiator, creating a sandwich keeping it in place.

Thanks for the help.
ROFL_A_PIGGY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 05:43 PM   #24 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: CPU heatsink

For easier cleaning you can do rad/fan/case with fan blowing out of case. Any dust collected on the rad can easily be cleaned off that way.

Asus Express Gate is not a bios. That's basically just a live OS.

The bios is where you configure everything for your motherboard. Even my old boards from 2004 had basic fan configuration for 3pin fans.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 06:56 PM   #25 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ROFL_A_PIGGY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California, USA
Posts: 103
Default Re: CPU heatsink

So I press delete and it enters me into the Bios Setup Utility, where I can do things like change the boot priority of devices, change voltages, etc.

I still cannot find where I can control the speed of fans (it allows me to change voltage of fans).

Here is my motherboard

Should I take pictures of my bios setup so you can see what I'm working with?
ROFL_A_PIGGY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 08:10 PM   #26 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: CPU heatsink

It's going to be Q-Fan control. Putting it on silent should be ok for stock CPU speeds. Just make sure whatever header your pump is plugged into is at full speed. Silent should be lowest, turbo should be highest.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 09:37 PM   #27 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: CPU heatsink

Quote:
Originally Posted by PP Mguire View Post
For easier cleaning you can do rad/fan/case with fan blowing out of case. Any dust collected on the rad can easily be cleaned off that way.
+1 for this layout. Have this setup on my H110, and it made cleaning super easy. Just used a damp cloth to wipe the dust away from the rad and was done.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2016, 10:19 PM   #28 (permalink)
True Techie
 
ROFL_A_PIGGY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: California, USA
Posts: 103
Default Re: CPU heatsink

Thanks so much for your help.

I was able to find the setting to control the fans. The pump is plugged into one of the chassis fans and the rear fan is connected to the cpu fan. The wires are pretty short so this was the only way I could get them plugged in.

I changed the chassis fans to turbo and the cpu fan to silent and it's working great now, no loud noise.

I will switch the direction of the fan later on tonight.
ROFL_A_PIGGY is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 05:28 AM   #29 (permalink)
Wizard of Wires
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: 4321
Posts: 696
Default Re: CPU heatsink

That's not going to work. The way you have it the pump is not going to follow the CPU temps. It's going to run flat out constantly. That's going to reduce the MTBF dramatically.
You can get extension cables or make some to put the wiring in the correct locations. Check Newegg or any other shop that sells computer parts. Mod shops would be your best bet.
setishock is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2016, 06:25 AM   #30 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,279
Default Re: CPU heatsink

Quote:
Originally Posted by setishock View Post
That's not going to work. The way you have it the pump is not going to follow the CPU temps. It's going to run flat out constantly. That's going to reduce the MTBF dramatically.
You can get extension cables or make some to put the wiring in the correct locations. Check Newegg or any other shop that sells computer parts. Mod shops would be your best bet.
No it's not. You don't want your pump to go up and down while your fan is set permanently to low. I've had my H50 since 2009 and always ran it flat out without issue. These pumps are made to do just that. The H100i uses software to control temps if you let it and the pump is always set to max while it uses the fans to control the temps. Custom loop pumps do the same thing because the instant you reduce flow rate your temps start to rise a great deal. Considering these pumps are a low flow and low pressure setup as it is reducing to anything other than max could make his chip heat up pretty bad.
__________________

__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Performance difference between "water cooled" heatsink and normal heatsink? Veraster Overclocking and Modding 5 10-04-2012 12:44 AM
to heatsink or to not heatsink soulofadra6on New Systems | Building and Buying 15 09-22-2009 07:51 PM
No Cpu Fan/heatsink Voltage Out Of The 3-pin Mb Connector?? Cpu Cooling Solution? Johnny916 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 6 05-26-2005 11:33 PM
Heatsink on CPU MattD4 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 2 04-25-2004 12:20 PM
CPU Heatsink/fan kizzeith Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 12-23-2003 05:21 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.