CPU Etc running temp too high - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-02-2006, 11:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default CPU Etc running temp too high

I'm always checking on the temperature of evertyhing in my computer and they all seem way too high, but not high enough for any damage to really occur just enough to prevent from overclocking.

I don't get it, it's a preinstalled system but the thing is, there's two decent size heat sinks with one with a nice big fan on top of it...there's two output fans as well...and if you're considering the fan/heatsink on the graphics board, it has a cover to force the heat towards the rear out of the computer.

I shouldn't be having temperatures of around 60o even at idle, at least not for my cpu because I've heard it should just be running at around 30 - 40o
__________________

__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 11:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

My old computer use to run at 55c idle, i updated the bios, then it idled at 42c from then on
__________________

__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 04:46 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default

How do I update my bio?

That might do something, and when I do update my bio...is there a risk of losing anything such as settings and such?
__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Old 09-02-2006, 04:49 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
AMDSCOrPiO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 613
Default

There is a risk of blowin the whole comp but thats only if you really screw up.

You will need a floppy drive or a flash drive, then just look for the bios ment for your mobo then follow the instructions,

you cant really screw it up unless you turn the pc off in the middle of updating.

**edit**

If your psu isnt strong enough, it can cause the system to over heat. Happened to me a awhile back
__________________
AMDSCOrPiO is offline  
Old 09-03-2006, 12:20 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 341
Default

Can someone find information on the D915GRO, it's a product not listed on the Intel site even if it's part of the D915 series.

Although, that could also mean there is no BIOS update for it? >_>
__________________
I believe victory only exist at the end, no matter how the factors present it.

XIGMATEK HDT-D1284
ATI RADEON X850XT PE
NZXT TEMPEST: CRAFTED SERIES
IF06 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.