cpu - dual or quad? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-14-2010, 07:23 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 39
Default cpu - dual or quad?

my configuration:
GA-P35-S3G
E8500 @ 3,95gHz
GTX460 1GB OC
WD Blue 640GB
...
Win7 Ultimate 32-bit

i use my PC mainly for gaming, video editing/capturing/converting, and photo editing.
if i change my CPU and get an q8300, would i see any improvement?
__________________

pike8 is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 11:13 AM   #2 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: cpu - dual or quad?

Yes... you will. Well depends on your actual program used.

With the c2d you're hitting 100% cpu, but switching to a quad will either give much better speed, as you have 2 extra coees processing, or you'll free up cpu to run the other stuff and gain some more speed, just not a lot.

But for your activities, a quad is the better option.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 04:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Chillstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Between a rock and a hard place
Posts: 73
Default Re: cpu - dual or quad?

Yeah quad-core will help a lot here. Games are also starting to utilize more than two cores, so you future proofing with a quad core
Another thing is, thats if i'm not mistaken, with a new quad core processor you should be able to install Windows 7 64 bit (64 bit disc will have come with the windows 7 install package as long as it's not OEM) therefore increasing your gaming experience a little
Chillstalker is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 04:48 PM   #4 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: cpu - dual or quad?

64-bit has nothing to do with the amount of cores. I have a single core Athlon 64 3800+ and an Athlon 64 x2 4450e.

and I'm pretty sure the Intel E series were 64bit.
__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 06:21 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Chillstalker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Between a rock and a hard place
Posts: 73
Default Re: cpu - dual or quad?

didn't really mean about the number of cores, i really meant to emphasis the "new" processors.
Chillstalker is offline  
Old 12-14-2010, 06:47 PM   #6 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: cpu - dual or quad?

Oh my bad. Either way it is still 64bit compatible.


Would you like us to put something together for you?
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Quad Vs. Dual ratzlaff System Upgrades 6 12-08-2008 01:38 PM
CPU Help - Dual or Quad? Method New Systems | Building and Buying 5 08-07-2008 07:56 AM
Dual or Quad frankefrank Laptops and Notebooks 4 05-26-2008 11:52 AM
Dual vs. Quad mnelson07 New Systems | Building and Buying 24 09-20-2007 11:28 PM
Quad or Dual Cores? Jayvon New Systems | Building and Buying 36 09-20-2006 03:25 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.