CPU Confusion - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-06-2006, 11:22 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to dxcouch Send a message via Yahoo to dxcouch
Default CPU Confusion

hi. I am concidering taking my dell dimension 3000 and buying a new case/mobo for it since the dimensions werent all that upgradable as is (basically with playing games, i'm tired of the PCI graphx card cus the mobo doesnt have a agp or PCI express slot)

normally i wouldnt have any problem doing so as i've rebuilt a few computers already and have been able to identify hardware in the past but then I came across the CPU in the current mation and I am at a loss when it came to the CPU in the current machine.

as far as I understand its a Pentium4 Presscott 2.8GHz 1M 533fbs E0. The E0 is throwing me for a loop and when i try gathering info on the processor i get different socket types. any clarification please?

dxcouch is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 11:23 AM   #2 (permalink)
Field Engineer
SHAWN's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN

Look for a socket 478 motherboard that will hold a 800/533 fsb.

A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 11:57 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

Trotter's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 30,955

You may also want to look for a new PSU, or get a case that has a good PSU with it. The PSU in your system won't be able to handle a decent graphics card.

If you are running with less than 512MB of RAM, you may also want to grab some while you are at it... especially if you plan to game.

Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / EVGA GTX 760 2GB
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / WD Red 3TB
G.SKILL Ripjaws 2x2GB DDR3 1600 - Crucial Ballistix Tracer 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win7 Ult 64-bit - Func MS3 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard

R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 01-06-2006, 01:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 21
Send a message via AIM to dxcouch Send a message via Yahoo to dxcouch

right now what i have in it is

2.8ghz P4
778MB PC2700 Ram (had 1GB at one point but when i built my other comp it was lacking ram so i put the 256 from that into this and put the other 512 in that comp)
NVIDIA GeForce FX 5500 PCI graphix

I was definately getting a new case that was for sure. I know the one that my opther computer is in has a 480W ps but i dont really feel like dismantling that comp since its the one i use for at school/work.
dxcouch is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:28 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.