CPU and bus speeds - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-05-2006, 10:12 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2
Question CPU and bus speeds

Here's the deal: I fried the motherboard on my Pavilion pc, and am looking at a new one for it.

My problem is I don't fully understand bus speeds. Is the CPU bus speed the same thing as the FSB?

I have a Celeron (Tualatin core) 1300/256/100 processor, it was running originally on a board with a FSB of 133mhz.

So why was the processor rated at a bus speed of 100mhz even though the FSB of the board was rated at 133 mhz?
Does that mean I was really running a FSB of only 100 mhz?

Ok, next question. I am looking at a pcchips 786 v5.2 board. It says it will run :
FCPGA Celeron: 300~966 MHz, FSB: 66 MHz
FCPGA Pentium III: 500~1130MHz, FSB: 100MHz, 133MHz
Tualatin/Tualatin Celeron : up to 1.3GHz, FSB: 133MHz
Will it, then, support my processor (the Celeron 1.3/256/100) optimally?

Money is tight, and the pcchips board meets all other requirements, I would hate to buy something that wouldn't run correctly with my processor.

also, don't know if this matters, but the board has jumpers to allow adjustment of the cpu frequency and to change the multiplier. And it will be using pc100/133 sdram.

If you need any more info to help me in answering my questions, just let me know.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Daboga75 is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 04:42 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3,453
Send a message via AIM to FghtinIrshNvrDi Send a message via Yahoo to FghtinIrshNvrDi

The processor will work with the new PC Chips board. Are you sure the previous motherboard only allowed 100mhz fsb? That would litterally cripple the processor. But if that's the case, then yes, it was downclocked.



<b>I'm an unhyphenated American.</b>
System Specs:
Intel Q6600 @ 3200 1.4v
Abit IP35 Pro "The Snake"
2x2gb A-Data @ 800
Diamond HD 3870 512mb

Great FORD TRUCK resource: http://www.fordtruckfanatics.com
FghtinIrshNvrDi is offline  
Old 02-05-2006, 05:50 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2

Well, the board said FSB of 133mhz. My cpu says it has a bus speed of 100 mhz. Is the cpu bus speed and the front side bus on the board the same thing?
Daboga75 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.