Which CPU is better ??? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2006, 07:06 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default Which CPU is better ???

i am wondering which CPU to buy for gamer... AMD 64x2 3800 or INTEL D920 ???
__________________

ariel_gg is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 07:21 PM   #2 (permalink)
There and Back again
 
Nukem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Chattanooga, TN
Posts: 4,402
Default

AMD
__________________

__________________



Dell 4K S2817Q / Logitech Z-680 / Func MS3 Mouse / Corsair K70 LUX rgb
NZXT Source 530 / i5-7600K / Corsair H100i v2 / ASRock Z270 Extreme4
SM951 M2 256GB / 850 evo 1TB / Seagate 2TB / WD 2TB
2x16GB Vengeance LPX DDR4 3000 / evga Classified GTX 980 ti / Seasonic M12II 850W

Nukem is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 07:34 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
reggie_da_man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 2,567
Default

AMD all the way.
__________________

reggie_da_man is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 08:27 PM   #4 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 110
Default

intel all the way baby
Microsoft_Boy is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 08:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default

I need more comments guys !!!!! EVERYBODY leave a replay what do u think!!!!!
ariel_gg is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 08:46 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

For gaming, it's without a doubt, AMD. Will you be getting the 939 or AM2?
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 09:04 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 15
Default

I think I will get it with the 939 !!What which of them is better, the AM2 or the 939 ??
ariel_gg is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 09:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

AM2 will give better performance, although a negligible difference, than 939 because it uses DDR2 memory. However, there aren't many good AM2 motherboards out right now. I've heard of many of them having memory compatibility problems and other miscellaneous issues. 939 has many great motherboards which are also cheaper. A couple I recommend are the DFI LanParty or MSI K8N Neo4-F if you decide to go that route. I have no idea what a good AM2 motherboard is yet.
__________________
NathanM is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 11:43 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 793
Default

go for the AMD,


(off topic i know) just to ask is the MSI Neo4-F a good Overclocker cause i have Opty 144 coming and i need advice on a good board
__________________



\"I may or may not have put a loaf of bread in the dish washer\"
\"Once you go white a trailer is in sight\"
COD2_fanatic is offline  
Old 07-01-2006, 11:49 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 841
Default

Yeah, it has all the options you should need, although nowhere near as many as the DFI LanParty (the best board for overclocking), but it gets the job done. I recently heard of someone's overclock being limited after flashing their BIOS to a newer version, and they could overclock higher after they reverted. That may be why I can't get my Opteron over 2.6, but that's unconfirmed. If you don't want the DFI LanParty, go for the MSI K8N Neo4-F, or possibly one of MSI's more costly versions if they have any additional features you like.
__________________

__________________
NathanM is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.