Could I get away with this? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-28-2008, 09:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Could I get away with this?

I would love to get an 8800GT for my system just for some extra performance.

Here are my current parts, minus graphics card (8600GT):

AMD Athlon 64 3500+
1GB PC3200 RAM
200GB Sata HDD
1 DVD-DL Drive
Generic sound card

Could I get away with putting an 8800GT in there with this PSU



The recommended 12V Rail is 26 Amps, but I was just wondering if I could get away with this because my system isn't really a power hog...
__________________

Matt08642 is offline  
Old 08-29-2008, 03:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: Could I get away with this?

Should work no problem, I was surprised when I put my new 9800 GTX+ in with a 480W that only pushed 15W on the 12 v rail and it runs just fine.

Dauntae
__________________

Dauntae is offline  
Old 08-30-2008, 01:16 AM   #3 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Could I get away with this?

Yeh but you would benefit more by getting 2gig of ram.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 08-30-2008, 02:26 AM   #4 (permalink)
 
zedman3d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 2,852
Default Re: Could I get away with this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by redmo0n View Post
yeh But You Would Benefit More By Getting 2gig Of Ram.
+1...
zedman3d is offline  
Old 08-30-2008, 06:45 AM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: Could I get away with this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by zedman3d View Post
+1...
I would invest in more RAM, but in about a month my friend is giving me these parts:

AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
Asus motherboard that goes with it
1GB DDR2 RAM

So there is no point in it, seeing as it would be useless in a little while.
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 08-30-2008, 06:50 AM   #6 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Could I get away with this?

You could always get another gig and then have 3gig when you get the other parts.
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 08-30-2008, 10:35 AM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Matt08642's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 272
Default Re: Could I get away with this?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Redmo0n View Post
You could always get another gig and then have 3gig when you get the other parts.
Can I put DDR RAM in with DDR2 RAM?
Matt08642 is offline  
Old 08-30-2008, 12:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techalicious
 
Redmo0n's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 1,566
Send a message via MSN to Redmo0n
Default Re: Could I get away with this?

No sorry
__________________
Back to stay?
Redmo0n is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 05:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Biostar Stole my heart
 
Hussein19891's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Canada
Posts: 2,209
Send a message via MSN to Hussein19891
Default Re: Could I get away with this?

PC3200 is 533mhz clocked ram right? Cause thats DDR2 not DDR. Most boards support anything between 533mhz ram and 800mhz. So it would be worth getting another gig of PC3200 ram. By the time you get your parts from your friend you should be able to stick your ram right in without much worries.
__________________


Hussein19891 is offline  
Old 09-02-2008, 06:45 PM   #10 (permalink)
The Bulldog
 
zmatt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: In an empty Ramen packet
Posts: 4,660
Default Re: Could I get away with this?

PC3200 is DDR. You can tell if its DDR2 because the name would be PC2xxxx
__________________

__________________


ポップ・タルトが大好きです。
<<<<<<<Rep is always welcome
Ultimate Guitar exercises/ Songs for technique
zmatt is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.