Correct way to install Memory Modules? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-21-2009, 10:38 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
Kdar's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 894
Default Correct way to install Memory Modules?

It might be a little stupid question. But what is correct way to install RAM into Motherboard?

Before I always install by matching color.

Like here is pic of my motherboard...

Before my memory was always connected into slots 1 and 3, or 2 and 4.
On my first computer and other computers which I did for other people.

But on my new home computer when I had memory in slot 1 and 3, computer would not boot. At first I didn't know it was memory problem, I was thinking PSU went bad or maybe CPU isn't sitting right. But when I change my memory into slots 2 and 3, sitting close together, computer was booting fine, with 0 problems.

So do memory modules need to be close to each other? Or is it better to install them closer to the center of mother board (1 and 2), or closer to the case walls (like 3 and 4)?

Kdar is offline  
Old 02-21-2009, 10:47 AM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
veg1992's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: Correct way to install Memory Modules?

Figure out which slots are dual-channel (read your manual) and put them in based on that...

Its either the same color, or same sides.. and that differs PC to PC

I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.

.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 10:24 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 40
Default Re: Correct way to install Memory Modules?

Get 4 sticks and problem solved!!!
parsalian is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 03:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,799
Default Re: Correct way to install Memory Modules?

Read the mobo manual. Most boards say go with alternating slots eg 0+2 but I've also had boards which say eg 0+1. The only way you will know is to read the manual. If you no longer have a hard copy of the manual most manufacturers have an online version as well.

There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 05:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
oldskool's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: Correct way to install Memory Modules?

Originally Posted by parsalian View Post
Get 4 sticks and problem solved!!!
Not necessarily true. Sometimes you cant load all four. Follow kmote's and vernong's advice regarding checking the manual and you will do fine.
oldskool is offline  
Old 02-23-2009, 07:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Correct way to install Memory Modules?

Agreed not all boards support Dual Channel either. so you should look for that in your manual too. its unlikely that your board doesnt support it but just check. Like my computer runs dual channel in 1 and 3 and 2 and 4 but not all motherboards are created equal.

Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Problems with Memory affecting SATA drive? DJUDX Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 11-30-2007 05:33 PM
Memory MOdules Problem - Timings Please Help babistor Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 05-03-2007 04:57 AM
Is Vista seeing memory on my 8800GTS 320MB wrong? phexac Microsoft Windows and Software 2 03-25-2007 11:03 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.