core2 duo....can it hold gta????? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-21-2009, 12:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: pakistan,lahore
Posts: 39
Default core2 duo....can it hold gta?????

hi ihave just made my new core 2 duo pc mainly for my work and some light gaming


the build is:

core 2 duo E6850
2gb ov ram
9500 gt


can it hold gta 4 on a small 17" monitor screen or ot?????
__________________

bonga is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 12:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lady Techie
 
Yami's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 7,774
Default Re: core2 duo....can it hold gta?????

The E6850 would probably do fine on low, not very well on medium. It would be bottlenecked by the 9500GT.

Also, GTAIV doesn't count as 'light gaming' lol :P
__________________

__________________
Desktop i5-4440 - ASRock Z77 Extreme4 - EVGA GTX970 - 4x4GB 1600MHz - Samsung 850 EVO 250GB - Be Silent Base 800 - 3TB+1TB+1TB+640GB
Laptop i7-3740QM @ 2.7GHz, 2x4GB 1600Mhz, GT640M, OCZ Agility 3 120GB
Smartphone Galaxy S7 Edge

LinkedIn Kiera Mitchell
Yami is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 01:04 PM   #3 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: core2 duo....can it hold gta?????

My e6750 runs GTA4 just fine.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 04-21-2009, 02:19 PM   #4 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: core2 duo....can it hold gta?????

yeah, the bottleneck here isnt the cpu, but the gpu...carnage you're pushing a nice GTX 285 (me wants ) and he's got the 9500gt.....it should have no trouble on low settings though
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 02:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: core2 duo....can it hold gta?????

Well there's no doubt about that, but his CPU will still be fine . Just needs to get a beefier GPU (285 is nice btw ).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 04-21-2009, 02:48 PM   #6 (permalink)
AKA ComatoseClown
 
H4x3r's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 1,526
Send a message via AIM to H4x3r Send a message via MSN to H4x3r
Default Re: core2 duo....can it hold gta?????

what clocks are your 285 running at? i got both of my 260's @ 715/1150.....hahaa
__________________
H4x3r is offline  
Old 04-21-2009, 02:51 PM   #7 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: core2 duo....can it hold gta?????

Can't remember for sure...not at home right now so I can't check; I can check in about a half hour tho when I get home lol.

Edit: its at 718 core/1305 memory/1635 shader
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 04-21-2009, 03:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: core2 duo....can it hold gta?????

The E6850 is a 3ghz dual core its good for gaming for an another 1-2 years atleast.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 04:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Dauntae's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 1,814
Default Re: core2 duo....can it hold gta?????

When I first got GTA4 I was running a E6850 with a 9800 GTX+ and ran pretty good on med and the cpu was just fine, Now with a new cpu and gpu GTA4 get cranked up pretty high with no problems, Just have not played much lately. Planning on getting win 7 64bit whenever it is released and don't really want to be too far into it and have to start over so it's on my to be played at a later date games. Right now I have it on XP 32 bit and can't use all the ram and that game likes the ram.

Dauntae
__________________
New system
NZXT Tempest 410 - I5-4670K - Asus Z87-Plus - SeaSonic SS-750KM3 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular PS
GPU MSI GTX 970 Gaming 4G - CORSAIR Vengeance Pro 16GB 1600 (2x8gig) - SAMSUNG 840 EVO 250 -Seagate Barracuda 3-TB

Antec 200 - I7-920 - ASUS P6T - Corsair TX650 it's old but still kicking like a mule
2-EVGA GTX 470 in SLI- ocz vertex 3 SSD 128 gig
Seagate Barracuda 1-TB - OCZ DDR3-1600 12 gigs 3x2
Keeps Me Happy :lol:

If I've been helpful, Please rep me
Dauntae is offline  
Old 04-24-2009, 08:54 AM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,516
Default Re: core2 duo....can it hold gta?????

Just back up your save game profiles, Dauntae . That's what I did, and I made the move from XP to Vista.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTA 4 - tweaking performance and fixing issues guide Wildside PC Gaming 7 12-22-2008 04:12 PM
Upgrade using a 45nm Core2 Duo - please help SimonC New Systems | Building and Buying 21 01-19-2008 12:52 AM
AM2 vs Core2 duo Mandingo New Systems | Building and Buying 10 10-01-2007 03:40 PM
WTS/WTT for a Core 2 Duo processor mtb2005 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 09-11-2007 09:11 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.