Core 2 Quad vs Core 2 Duo? Help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2010, 05:16 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ca
Posts: 11
Default Core 2 Quad vs Core 2 Duo? Help

So Im upgarding my cpu and I found out the Intel Core 2 quad and Core 2 Duo are compatible with my motheboard. My current cpu is a pentium dual core E2200. My Question is which cpu would be better for Gaming? I first assumed the Quad would be better because it has more cores, but some of my friends say that the core 2 duo is better for gaming while the core 2 quad is more for running multiple applications simutaneously. Im a noob who needs some good advice. Any help would be appreciated
__________________

Jung_C is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 05:48 PM   #2 (permalink)
Hyper Techie
 
Abstract Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 1,842
Default Re: Core 2 Quad vs Core 2 Duo? Help

Though many games don't harness the full potential of a quad it would still benefit you greatly to get the quad.

It would indeed game better than the duo.
__________________

__________________
- AMD FX8320 @ 4.2Ghz - ASRock Fatal1ty 990FX Killer - G.Skill Ripjaws X 8gb -
- Asus Strix GTX 970 - Corsair Neutron GTX - Corsair TX 750 -
- Cooler Master HAF XB - Corsair H105 -
- Asus VG248QE - Corsair M60 & K90 -
Abstract Hero is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 05:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Core 2 Quad vs Core 2 Duo? Help

There are various models of Core 2 Quad's and Core 2 Duo's . And not every motherboard can run every model of Core 2 Quad or Duo. Some motherboards may need a bios flash to use some cpu's and some motherboards will only work with a few specific cpu's no matter what you do. So in order to give you a good answer we need to know exactly what motherboard you have.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 07:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ca
Posts: 11
Default Re: Core 2 Quad vs Core 2 Duo? Help

My Mobo Is a MSI Nvidia MCP73pv. The reason I write nvidia Is because when I type in MSI MCP73pv in google it shows it as having somthing to do with nvidia. I know I had an integrated graphics Geforce 7100/nvidia nForce 630i maybe thats why. Let me know if that helps

Heres my current specs
ACER ASPIRE M5641 Desktop
Intel pentium Dual core E2200 2.20GHz
Geforce gt240
4g ram
Windows Vista 64 bit
550 watt psu
Motherboard = MSI MCP73pv,socket LGA775,Real clock 200MHz(QDR),Effective Clock 800Mhz
Jung_C is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 08:10 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Core 2 Quad vs Core 2 Duo? Help

Well I can't find anything at Acer to confirm what cpu's will be supported. This is the last bios update they offered and they don't say what it changes. Updating your bios can totally disable your motherboard causing it to never work again, you do this at your own risk.
Bios Update R01.C2

According to Nvidia the 6 series supports these cpu's.
http://www.nvidia.com/content/nforce...l_CPU_List.pdf
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 08:25 PM   #6 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: Core 2 Quad vs Core 2 Duo? Help

Can we get an actual motherboard model? MCP73PV is just the chipset.

For us to tell you which would be better we would need to know if it supports the 65nm or 45nm chips, and then its down to clock speed from there.

After some Google though it appears a Gateway system with the same board comes with a Q6600 so know it will at least support that.

Edit:

http://www.msi.com/index.php?func=pr...8&maincat_no=1

Is that your board? If so, then thats what it supports and it currently supports all 65 and 45nm quads and duals.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 11:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ca
Posts: 11
Default Re: Core 2 Quad vs Core 2 Duo? Help

First off thx to all you guys and girls help. Ill will definitely research performing a bios update further before I make any decisions. Also now that I know MCP73pv is just the chipset is there an easy way to get the actual model number? I DL a program called everest and it gave the MCP73pv as the model # so I guess that didnt help. If I open up my case will it show the real model number on the board? Also Is a bios update necessary when Installing a new cpu?
Jung_C is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 11:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 28,306
Default Re: Core 2 Quad vs Core 2 Duo? Help

Typically CPU-Z (free download) will show the full model under the motherboard tab. Just look at the link i provided and see if that motherboard matches yours visually. If so, its prolly the same.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline  
Old 11-02-2010, 12:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Ca
Posts: 11
Default Re: Core 2 Quad vs Core 2 Duo? Help

Thx again I havent seen my mobo in a long time I'll open up my case tomorrow and check it out.
Jung_C is offline  
Old 11-02-2010, 11:04 AM   #10 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Core 2 Quad vs Core 2 Duo? Help

If it is the 630i you get a great choice of quads, but It'll be hard to figure out if the bios does.
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
faster dual-core or slower quad-core buckman341 System Upgrades 8 12-09-2008 02:42 PM
New Build:Quad-Core or Dual-Core for Gaming? robdarftw New Systems | Building and Buying 10 10-21-2008 01:51 AM
I just dont get it (single core vs dual/quad core processors) nukeman8 PC Gaming 4 08-29-2008 11:49 AM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
Quad-core and Octo-core(8) CPUs in future skullker New Systems | Building and Buying 20 10-27-2006 12:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.