Core 2 Extreme/Quad - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-01-2007, 04:52 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 204
Default Core 2 Extreme/Quad

why are they so **** expensive?!

so i should just go with the duo huh.
__________________

turboxchaz is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 04:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

4 cores = 4 times the price
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 02-01-2007, 05:18 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

Yes...save yourself alot of money, by getting a Core 2 Duo.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 07:52 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 7
Send a message via AIM to westmn
Default

Most programs don't know how to use more than one core anyhow, and 4 can mess things up.
A waist of money (as of now) if you ask me.
westmn is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:42 AM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 71
Default

If you really want a Quad Core, just wait about 3 more months, they plan to have a massive drop in price very soon.
nicholasp7 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 08:57 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Liverpool, UK
Posts: 511
Default

I agree, I am just getting a Core 2 Duo instead. Nice and cheap and easier to cool.
__________________
Computer
HAF 932 -- ASUS P8Z68-V
Intel i5 @ 4.5Ghz -- CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Plus
8GB Corsair Vengeance Jet Black 1600MHz -- 2x XFX ATi Radeon HD 6970 2GB
Raze664 is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 09:14 AM   #7 (permalink)
Self Proclaimed Immortal
 
hmammen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: lounge 146 (Euless TX)
Posts: 2,679
Send a message via AIM to hmammen Send a message via MSN to hmammen Send a message via Yahoo to hmammen
Default

the hardware and technology alike for quad cores is extremely new, therefore its really expensive...in about a year or two, more proframs and apps will utilize quad core and therefore it will lower the price.....
i dont really know why you would physically need four cores....two is good for now...
__________________

Posted from my Nexus7
hmammen is offline  
Old 02-02-2007, 03:21 PM   #8 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 187
Default

its not even a true "quad" core. Its just 2 dual cores put together. There are no programs that can use 2 dual cores together for max performance. Your better off just getting a dual core processor like a 6600.
Michowski is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 02:27 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 280
Default

Third Quarter '07 AMD comes out with competition, prices will drop, applications and programs will be able to use this new technology.
__________________
updated sig soon
GreenMachine is offline  
Old 02-03-2007, 02:48 PM   #10 (permalink)
Hard Gay Nahalem! Fooo!
 
NosBoost300's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Bellflower, CA
Posts: 10,154
Send a message via AIM to NosBoost300
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by westmn
Most programs don't know how to use more than one core anyhow, and 4 can mess things up.
A waist of money (as of now) if you ask me.
its not just about what can utilize, thats why you just set affinities to all your programs, sure its not great for an average user, but for music and video editors it is a dream.

and sure its a not a true "quad core", it is only 2 processors 2 die's.. but big whoop, does it make a difference when its doing that good???

wait for their true quad core with the 45nm if you really want something.. two penryn on one die is gonna be insane..

and q6600 are to drop to the 500 dollar price range while e6700 should be dropped to 315 ish.. i think thats all due in april or something like that
__________________

__________________
Current Build:
Intel 3770k @ 4.4 GHZ | Galaxy GTX 770 SLi | 16 GB G.Skill Sniper | ASrock z77 Extreme4
2xSamung 840pro 128GB in Raid | 2x1TB Seagate | Antec 750 Watt GamerSeries
Media Build:
Intel Core i3 3220 | Galaxy GTX 650 | 8 GB Corsair Vengeance | ASrock B75M | Samsung 840 120GB
NosBoost300 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.