Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core? - Page 3 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-05-2010, 11:46 AM   #21 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by LFCJohnSmith View Post
I have just done a search on the Fosconn website and it says that the Foxconn 45GM mobo will accept the CPU, here is the page:

Foxconn Support - CPU Support List
yea, thats what i had already linked to in my post before

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
that would be a pretty decent upgrade but it doesnt look like your mobo would support an e7600 or any 45nm cpus.
Foxconn Support - CPU Support List

i think the best cpu your mobo will support is an x6800, but thats probably going to be **** expensive.
and no where does it list an e7600.

patonb had already mentioned this before; just because it says it supports c2ds doesnt mean it will support all c2ds.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 12:50 PM   #22 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

grrrrrrrrrr **** 45nm c2qs and 680i chipsets!
__________________

__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 02-05-2010, 03:24 PM   #23 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
yea, thats what i had already linked to in my post before



and no where does it list an e7600.

patonb had already mentioned this before; just because it says it supports c2ds doesnt mean it will support all c2ds.
Sorry, I didn't notice the Core 2 Duo in your list
__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 04:57 AM   #24 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

Would the Intel Coreô2 Duo 2.66G Conroe E6700 1066 4M 65W offer much in the way of improvement over the CPU I currently have?
__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 08:00 AM   #25 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Whirlwind's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,400
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

If you overclocked it and got it to like 3.0 Ghz.....then you may see a noticeable difference....it would be better than the dual core pentium that you have, but I am not sure if it would be worth the money.

If you got a different mobo that would accomodate better cpus then it definitely would be worth it, but I know that may not be an option
__________________
Cooler Master CM Stacker Case
Asus P8Z68 V Pro/Gen 3
Intel i5-2500K
Cooler Master V6 GT Heat Sink
8 GB G-Skill DDR 3 1600
GTX 570 SLI
Asus Xonar Essence STX Sound Card
Grado RS1i & AKG Q701 Headphones
MAD EAR + HD Headphone Amp
Corsair CMPSU 850 Watt
Western Digital Black 500 GB
Crucial M4 64 GB SSD For Windows 7 64 Bit
Samsung 2494SW 24" LCD
Logitech G5 Mouse
Logitech G110 Keyboard
Whirlwind is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 08:16 AM   #26 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Whirlwind View Post
If you overclocked it and got it to like 3.0 Ghz.....then you may see a noticeable difference....it would be better than the dual core pentium that you have, but I am not sure if it would be worth the money.

If you got a different mobo that would accomodate better cpus then it definitely would be worth it, but I know that may not be an option
Thanks for the heads up Whirlwind, I cant really be bothered upgrading my mobo at the moment,I was just looking at speeding up the system I currently have. When I decide to change my mobo I will be building a new power PC and will be back online looking for advice and guidance on building a PC with a £1500 budget. I have never built a PC before so when I do decide to build one I will be on here looking for someone to guide me through it step by step.
__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 02:08 PM   #27 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

just a thought.... You said you weren't interested in overclocking, but being as your options don't look very good for an upgrade, an overclock of you current cpu may help a little. I don't know how good of an overclocking chip it is, but it may be something to look into for a slight performance boost until you build you power PC.
__________________
I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 04:05 PM   #28 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
LFCJohnSmith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Liverpool UK
Posts: 413
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

Quote:
Originally Posted by apsoul View Post
just a thought.... You said you weren't interested in overclocking, but being as your options don't look very good for an upgrade, an overclock of you current cpu may help a little. I don't know how good of an overclocking chip it is, but it may be something to look into for a slight performance boost until you build you power PC.
The reason I am not going to overclock my CPU is because my mobo wont allow me to overclock a cpu.
__________________


<<<< I JUST WANT AND NEED SOME REP!!!!!!
LFCJohnSmith is offline  
Old 02-06-2010, 10:45 PM   #29 (permalink)
True Techie
 
apsoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Posts: 248
Default Re: Core 2 Duo Vs Dual Core?

ahh.. well that's a legitimate reason i guess
__________________

__________________
I may be schizophrenic, but at least I have each other :crazy:
apsoul is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Socket AM2 motherboard...lookin to upgrade single core to dual core processor BradS System Upgrades 2 01-09-2010 08:50 AM
Is my motherboard/setup ready for a dual core processor? BradS New Systems | Building and Buying 2 12-31-2009 02:33 AM
Intel i7 Overclocking Ulquiorra Schiffer Overclocking and Modding 37 06-06-2009 05:04 PM
Is dual better than quad, for non-PC gaming? Johnathan New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-27-2008 01:48 PM
Are Quad Core or Dual core best for gaming? Noniy New Systems | Building and Buying 11 06-03-2008 11:07 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.