Which Core? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-02-2008, 12:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
ReptiGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 62
Default Which Core?

I was going to go with a quad core for my computer but I don't think I do enough to need one.

The most I'll probably ever have up on my computer at the same time is four or five things and I don't know if I need a quad core processor for that.

I often have the internet up and a text editor up at the same time when I am making or changing a website.

Does Intel sell triple core processors? I've never seen an Intel Triple Core Processor.

If I did get a quad core processor would it make my computer faster?
__________________

ReptiGuy is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 12:57 AM   #2 (permalink)
I can't brain today
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Australia
Posts: 311
Default Re: Which Core?

It doesn't matter which CPU you go for, either a DUO or QUAD as both deliver great performance and you will hardly notice any difference between the two whilst surfin the net and basic windows stuff.

I have a Core 2 duo, works great, don't need to go to QUAD.

Make your own decision based on your budget, as both are great processors
__________________

__________________
"Whether you think you can or whether you think you can't, you're right."
[t..o..m] is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 01:18 AM   #3 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default Re: Which Core?

^^prety much all you need to know just stick to your budget and make your own decistions.
computer newbie is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 02:32 PM   #4 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
Puddle Jumper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 4,286
Default Re: Which Core?

Unless you are running very demanding applications a Core 2 Duo should be fine.

When I am programing i will usually have 2 or 3 instances of Visual Studio open, 4 or 5 instances of PowerPoint, Firefox,windows media player and occasionally a virus scan going and my overclocked E2180 handles it with no problem.
__________________

AMD Phenom II x4 955 Black Edition : Asus M4A89GTD PRO : Corsair 550VX
G.SKILL Ripjaws 4x2gb DDR3 1600 : MSI Geforce GTX 770 2gb : Antec 300
OCZ Agility 2 60gb SSD (OS) : SanDisk Ultra 120gb SSD (Apps) : Crucial M500 240gb (Steam) : Win 8.1 Pro 64bit
2x Samsung 2494LW & 1x Dell U2312HM Eyefinity

Lenovo ThinkPad X220 : Core i5 2410M : 12.5" 1366x768 IPS LED display : Intel 320 Series 120gb SSD

Samsung Galaxy Note 3 stock 4.3 : Nexus 7 2 stock 4.4

Puddle Jumper is offline  
Old 12-02-2008, 02:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: Which Core?

If your going to go quad get the Q9*50 series if going Core 2 duo the the E8200 just go with whichever fits in budget if you can't decide I doubt you will use the ability of a quad
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I just dont get it (single core vs dual/quad core processors) nukeman8 PC Gaming 4 08-29-2008 11:49 AM
Core i7 Will Self Overclock maroon1 Polls 0 08-20-2008 01:53 PM
How do I compare CPUs? Dual Core, Core 2 Duo, Quad Core... 706 New Systems | Building and Buying 1 12-05-2007 08:27 AM
AMD Triple Core? Osiris Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 4 09-19-2007 07:36 PM
AMD Athlon™ 64 X2 Dual Core Processor Utilities & Updates Osiris Overclocking and Modding 6 05-31-2007 01:41 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.