Coolermaster Black Storm Sniper vs. Antec Red Lanboy

Status
Not open for further replies.
I know the 5870 is supposed to run a little hotter than a 460 (roughly 5°C idle 12°C load), but I wouldn't expect space heater levels.
... So, reading while typing makes me think I should learn conversions, 5-12°C = 41-53.6°F, so yeah I can see where the heat is coming from.

Feel silly writing this considering you build computers regularly but, you made sure it was properly seated and the monitor cable was snugly plugged right? :p

Merry Christmas Roark!

I hope you are having a wonderful holiday! Thanks again for replying to my post. Yes, I have built a few computers, but I am a total rookie compared to most people here. I feel I know next to nothing about software and hardware issues after interacting with some of the people here.

I grew up in Silicon Vally [a couple of blocks away from Apple's headquarters, here in Cupertino, a couple of miles from Intel's headquarters, and a couple of miles from AMD's headquarters]. In fact this morning, on the way to church, we passed Marvel's new headquarters. In the Bay Area, massive numbers of computer software/hardware/EE PhD's and guru's surround us. So, living next to, interacting with, and looking at people with credentials like that help me realize I know next to nothing compared to what is happening in the high tech industry every day.

Purchasing a few hardware components and throwing them altogether in a metal box may make me look smart, cool, and hip to some of my not so high techie friends, but most of my friends that have worked in Intel, AMD, Apple, etc. know much better! So, no, I am not so smart or intelligent after all and it is good to keep reminding myself of this truth Roark!