Conroe Mobos? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-31-2006, 03:28 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 40
Default Conroe Mobos?

Are there any QUALITY Intel Conroe boards out there for a reasonable price?

The current MOBO situation for these new chips is making me lean toward an X2 5000+.
__________________

alphacooler is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 03:40 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

are you talking, Intel board for the conroe chip, or any brand motherboard for the conroe chip? cuz personally i dont like intel boards so i would say there never have been a good intel board. otherwise, pretty much all the major brands have a conroe board,Asus, DFI, MSI and so on.
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 03:40 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 164
Default

i think that they still use 775. i could be wrong tho, i only use amd
__________________
AMD 3500+
1GB PC3200
ASUS Motherboard
WD 80GB
7900GT 256
goblue14 is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 03:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
King X13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 987
Send a message via AIM to King X13
Default

they do use that, but not the same chipset, the old 775 chipset was like 925x and 915 and i think some 865s in there to i beleive, but the conroes only work on 965 chipset and above if im not mistaken so you need a new mobo.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
King X13 is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 03:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

It is socket 775 but with only certain chipsets. 975x 955x 945g 945p 945gt only as of now but nvidia is working on theirs
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 11:21 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 40
Default

The only boards I could find over at newegg (that had decent reviews) were $200-$300.

Am I missing something?
alphacooler is offline  
Old 07-31-2006, 11:41 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 406
Send a message via AIM to Tox1cThreat
Default

There is an ECS board out that is cheaper adn I believe that the Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 is conroe compatible, it retails on NE for 149. Also, the DS4 is coming out soon, as well as a slew of other motherboards, Id give it till the first week (7-10th) of August, then get ****ed off...
__________________
<center></center>
Tox1cThreat is offline  
Old 08-02-2006, 02:12 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 1,567
Send a message via AIM to massacreinfallx
Default

no you need to wait longer for the new motherboards to come out. as time goes on more mobos will be released in all diffrent price ranges.
__________________

massacreinfallx is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.