Conroe E6300 1.8ghz Compatability - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-26-2006, 09:36 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default Conroe E6300 1.8ghz Compatability

I'm looking to upgrade to this rather nice, cheap, and powerful CPU, but have concerns as to whether my current Mobo is going to work with it.

ASUS P5n32-SLI Deluxe


I know its LGA775, but its the chipset compatibility I'm dodgy on. Any advice and ideas as to whether this is 1.) A sensible upgrade, 2.) It will actually be compatible with my current mobo, and 3.) If not, any recommendations on which board to upgrade to, assuming im on a fairly tight budget.

Thanks in advance, hope you can help!
__________________

SmallGods is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 12:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 41
Default

that is an extreamly good motherboard, it is SLI ready and the way I see it, will go perfect with the E6300.

but i might recommend that the E6400 is the way to go right now, a recent article talks about how it overclocked to 3.33ghz with the stock cooler, read this youll see
http://www.tomshardware.com/2006/10/10/cheap_thrills/

with that MOBO and CPU combo your comp will peak easily and you'll get some sweet results
__________________

Elec_ is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 12:33 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default

I'm not sure, I've been trying to look into it, and it seems my current board may not be Core 2 Duo compliant, which I think is what it needs.

It seem the Premium version of the board I have IS however, which is annoying to say the least. Anyone know if this is right? I'd love to be able to just get this CPU (Cheers Elec_, the E6400 does seem a better choice!), but don't want to end up with equipment I cant use, and I cant really afford a new mobo...
SmallGods is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 12:43 PM   #4 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Your current mobo is C2D-ready.

Have a look on newegg:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813131031

It specifically states that it is good to go for C2D
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 12:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default

That one seems to be the SE edition. Any ideas if theres much difference at all?
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...2E16813131564R

Thats the one I have, which seems depressingly lacking in mentioning any C2D support....Looks like I'm back to the drawing board and possibly motherboard shopping, something I'm gonna have to think long and hard about.

Thanks for all your help anyways people!
SmallGods is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 01:16 PM   #6 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 5,191
Default

Your motherboard won't work with Core 2 Duo's. The SE does.

Sorry.
The General is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 01:34 PM   #7 (permalink)
Memberbot
 
Elbatrop1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 4,057
Default

Good thing you caught that. It seems that a feature of the SE is that they added C2D support.

Read:
http://techreport.com/reviews/2006q3...d/index.x?pg=3
__________________

Intel E6750...........PSN: ELBATROP
XFX nForce 650i Ultra
Patriot PC2-6400 8GB (4x2GB)
eVGA 9800GT
36GB WD Raptor
120GB SG
1TB SG
Logitech X-530
Samsung SyncMaster 931c
Samsung SyncMaster 750s
Windows 7 Home Premium 64
Elbatrop1 is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 04:58 PM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 41
Default

hmm, that sucks
Elec_ is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 05:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 22
Default

That it does! Seriously thinking about upgrading to the SE now, and selling off my old board, the costs should just about be covered, give or take hopefully...

Don't suppose anyone wants to buy a Mobo...? =)
SmallGods is offline  
Old 10-26-2006, 07:13 PM   #10 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 41
Default

good choice, the CPU E6400 kicks ***
__________________

Elec_ is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.