Conroe and AGP - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-15-2006, 08:34 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default Conroe and AGP

Greetings. I am building a new computer (yay!).

I will be getting a Core 2 Duo 6600 processor for sure, and probably the Wintec AMPX 2 gigs of DDR2 memory. My problem is this: I have a Geforce 6800 (AGP graphics card) that I bought probably about a year ago for a steep, steep price, and I desire to keep it. I don't do any INTENSE gaming, so I want to keep this graphics card for another few years at least. The problem is the motherboards. All of the motherboards for Conroe and DDR2 seem to only have PCIe slots. I know there's an AGP-to-PCIe converter, but that would require more power (i'm only getting a 330W power supply), and it's like spending money for a 10% decrease in graphics performance.

There will be no overclocking. No intense fps gaming. (which is why I'm going with the 330W power supply.)

I just need there to be a decent mobo out there that supports the latest greatest, such as conroe and ddr2, but then also have one AGP slot that I can put my Geforce 6800 into.

Is there anything like this out there? Or will there be?
__________________

rouin is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 09:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 309
Default

No offense.... but, ... I think that you are searching for an Enzo that has a four-cylinder.

I don' t think that such an animal exists. Generally manufactureres and designers do not integrate nacent technology with "end of life" hardware....

Perhaps you could sell your 6800 and put the cash toward a PCI-E video card.

Also.... your PSU needs to have more cajones.
__________________

__________________
[SIZE=\"1\"]E6400 @ 3.4 , Noctua 120
7900GT @ 670/1680 , VF900
P5B-D 0711
2 x 1GB Patriot 6400 @ 425
WD SATA 250GB
VX2025WM
Neo HE 550
P180 / G15 / MX1000[/SIZE]
Syrillian is offline  
Old 08-15-2006, 09:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

I agree with Syrillian....sell your 6800 and get a better PSU.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 01:34 AM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 4
Default

So I've decided to just get a mid-level nVidia PCIe, maybe a 7600 or a 6800 or so. And I've also decided to get the Seasonic S12-380W. I'm going Seasonic because of their quietness. My assumption is that 380W would be enough to run the Conroe 2.4ghz, an nVidia 7600, the 2 gigs of memory, and a decent motherboard.

My current computer only uses a 350W PSU, and I'm running the Geforce 6800 and a 3.4ghz Prescott, and haven't had any problems with power.

Anybody think it's not enough power?
rouin is offline  
Old 08-16-2006, 01:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default

You can use this site to calculate the amount of power your pc might need...
http://extreme.outervision.com/psuca....jsp#footnote2
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.