confusion - Page 4 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2005, 11:01 PM   #31 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

First off, AMD will only utilize DDR and until the M2 sockets come out and then they will use DDR2 like Intels do now. If you look at the specs for the motherboard you chose you will see something like this "4x 184pin DDR". Just saying that it can hold 4 184 pin (amount of pins the RAM sticks have built in) and that it is DDR. Below that you will see something like this "DDR 400 (PC 3200)", this is just the speed at which the RAM will run in the mobo. Most AMDs run these speeds but throgh overclocking you can obtain much higher speeds. Hope this helps alittle.
__________________

thebleakness is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 11:03 PM   #32 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

cool i got it now... do you think the parts i linked to are good choices? im trying to keep under 700 dollars total. do you think the video card is good for games like half life 2. also is the processor a good choice? im trying to make the best possible gaming computer for under 700 dollars. im concerned about the motherboard.. its alot cheaper than others ive seen.. maybe its just becuase it has no video onboard
__________________

biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 11:28 PM   #33 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Here you go, try this one out:

keep the mobo, gpu, and dvd burner that you mentioned earlier
cpu- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819103539
hd- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16822135106
RAM- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440
Case- http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811208008

This is if you already have the monitor,keyboard,etc. The total comes out to about $730 afterwords. You will like that cpu more because it has 1mb of L2 cache. Feel free to change anything if you want.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 11:34 PM   #34 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

is that processor alot better than the 3200+?
biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 12:11 AM   #35 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: in the past
Posts: 1,144
Send a message via AIM to thebleakness
Default

Yeah its abit better. That extra L2 will keep you going for awhile. If you ever decide to get another hard drive, buy the same one or so and then RAID them together.
thebleakness is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 12:29 AM   #36 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 276
Send a message via AIM to Camden
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by GhostDJR
Yeah, but 1gig is average and anything beyond that is awesome. That's why I'm going to be buying two of them. I'm also going to run A LOT of new games.
1 gig's still enough.. particularly when you look at his budget.


Joe: If you go with that mobo and the 1 gig of ram, I'd recommend going for 2 512 mb sticks rather than 1 gb. It's a dual channel mobo, which means it would be faster than if you just put in 1x 1 gig stick.

You can't go wrong with the mobo, cpu, and gfx card you had listed. They're all very good for gaming.

Also, if you have any more questions, a LOT of them can be answered by this guide, courtesy of Static_11 and other TF members .

Good luck
Camden is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 06:53 AM   #37 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

ok so im gonna go with the amd 3700+. for the extra 40 bucks or so it seems worth it.. also im getting the eVGA Geforce 6800 GS
thanks for so much help guys... if i have anymore problems ill post in this topic
biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 12-16-2005, 07:12 AM   #38 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 730
Send a message via AIM to burned-ati Send a message via Yahoo to burned-ati
Default

well if your running a 7800gt on a venice 3000 over clocked to like 2.8ghz not only will your video card be getting high frames, but your cpu will boost them up like 10 more.

www.newegg.com

get the 7800gt, evga sli motherboard combo
ITS 379$
__________________

burned-ati is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.