confusion - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-15-2005, 08:33 PM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default

I don't think you should have to go on any lower than medium settings, especially with a gig of RAM.
__________________

__________________
My reply to all you show-offs out there:

AMD Duron@800mhz
FUJITSU 4gig
Maxtor 20gig
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000 PCI@275
256mb PC133 SDRAM@100 3-3-3-6 /x2
Shuttle AK12A@100
Hansol 17\" CRT 710D Monitor
VIA AC\'97 Audio Controller
Windows XP Professional
HITACHI DVD-ROM GD-7500
LG CD-RW CED-8120B

:D
Chernabog is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 08:41 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

ok.. lets say im able to somehow get some more money.. what would be the smartest thing to spend more money on? getting a better video card, processor, ram, etc
__________________

biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 08:54 PM   #13 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 2,306
Default

video card has more impact on frame rates
__________________
Lonewolf5460 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 08:55 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default

What he said. If you can, get the 7800.
__________________
My reply to all you show-offs out there:

AMD Duron@800mhz
FUJITSU 4gig
Maxtor 20gig
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000 PCI@275
256mb PC133 SDRAM@100 3-3-3-6 /x2
Shuttle AK12A@100
Hansol 17\" CRT 710D Monitor
VIA AC\'97 Audio Controller
Windows XP Professional
HITACHI DVD-ROM GD-7500
LG CD-RW CED-8120B

:D
Chernabog is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 09:05 PM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

thanks... some more questions... first of all i dont understand something... AMD has a 3000+, 3200+, 3400+, etc. i know that those numbers tell the equivalent to the clock speed of an intel pentium 4. but how can these processors differ in speed if some are the same clock speed? for example the 3000, 3200 and 3400 are all 2Ghz.. but they are different prices and obviously different speeds. the other question is how do i know which socket i need?
biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 09:11 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 86
Default

Meh, I wouldn't worry about your processor as much and you'll do just fine with a $100-150 processor and you can overclock with ease with an extra fan. I suggest geeting one of these
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130258
and another stick of 512 and you should be able to run most anything with ease.
GhostDJR is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 09:27 PM   #17 (permalink)
The Angriest of Amoebas
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 1,180
Default

So please explain to me, why he would need 512MB of RAM when he's already planning on getting 1GB. I don't quite understand where you're coming from with the extra stick of 512. He will be able to run pretty much anything with ease with 1GB of RAM and the video card you linked.
__________________
toxicity_27 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 09:40 PM   #18 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 86
Default

Yeah, but 1gig is average and anything beyond that is awesome. That's why I'm going to be buying two of them. I'm also going to run A LOT of new games.
GhostDJR is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 09:42 PM   #19 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 432
Default

I looked at he EVGA Geforce 6800GS 256 mb pci express. if i get this card... and also an amd athlon 64 processor.. what would be a motherboard that would be able to be used with them?
biggjoee5790 is offline  
Old 12-15-2005, 09:44 PM   #20 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 47
Default

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813130491
This should do.
__________________

__________________
My reply to all you show-offs out there:

AMD Duron@800mhz
FUJITSU 4gig
Maxtor 20gig
NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000 PCI@275
256mb PC133 SDRAM@100 3-3-3-6 /x2
Shuttle AK12A@100
Hansol 17\" CRT 710D Monitor
VIA AC\'97 Audio Controller
Windows XP Professional
HITACHI DVD-ROM GD-7500
LG CD-RW CED-8120B

:D
Chernabog is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.