Confused with upgrading RAM/graphics card - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-03-2005, 08:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default Confused with upgrading RAM/graphics card

Hey guys, im Rob, new to the forums. First off, I don't know a whole lot about computers, setup and what not, I just know enough to get me along.

Recently I've been wanting to upgrade the RAM and my graphics card for my Dell Dimensions 4600. I am looking to spend about $400 all together.

Main things is that I want is a good amount of RAM and a good graphics card so I can run games pretty well. (Like World of Warcraft) What are some good graphics cards I could use in this case? Also, how much RAM should I upgrade to. (Also maybe you could recommend some good products.)

Well, thats all I think, if I have anything more ill ask. Thanks for taking the time to read.

-Rob
__________________

Yenko is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 08:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

OK, Dell shows that you have one AGP slot and four RAM slots.

I suggest this:
1GB Corsair ValueSelect RAM:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440

eVGA nVidia Geforce 6600GT:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130220
__________________

__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 09:03 PM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 112
Send a message via AIM to dms0813
Default

agp is coming out with a 6800gs which is better then the 6600gt and meets your buget. also giel has some good ram, with heatsinks, and 2.5 timings. you might wanna check into that also
dms0813 is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 10:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Woa thanks guys, all that info reallt helped me a lot.
Yenko is offline  
Old 12-03-2005, 10:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,887
Default

Where did you hear that they where releasing the 6800GS for AGP?
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 12-04-2005, 02:27 AM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
NickFas's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 273
Default

personally i think you could get a little bit better ram or a little bit better video card because that setup macdude gave you is just over 200...i have the corsair xms ram and it's the best bang for the buck i think
__________________
Proud owner of the only hampster powered rig on these boards.
NickFas is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 02:54 AM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Whats the difference between the Corsair ValueSelect 1GB and the Corsair XMS ProSeries 2-Pack 512MB PC3200 DDR DIMM?

And would these two be fitted for a Dimensions 4600?
Yenko is offline  
Old 12-07-2005, 08:08 AM   #8 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by charles_scott
Where did you hear that they where releasing the 6800GS for AGP?
http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=28094
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 09:58 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 10
Default

Well this is what I got so far, what do you guys think?

GeForce 6600gt Graphics Card:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814130220

Corsair ValueSelect 1GB (512MBx2) DDR SD RAM PC 3200:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820145440

Dell PSU: Silencer 410 Dell-2:
http://www.pcpowercooling.com/produc...1D2&view=about

This is, I say it again lol, for a Dimensions 4600. The Power Supply on my comp now is only 250w so thats why I have to go ahead and get a new one.
Yenko is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 10:03 PM   #10 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default

Pricey power supply!! Looks good otherwise
__________________

__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.