Confused?? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-29-2007, 10:55 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default Confused??

this is my computer:
Dell Optiplex GX100 Intel Celeron 600MHz 128MB Memory
PROCESSOR Microprocessor type socketed Intel Celeron™ 600 MHZ microprocessor Internal cache 32-kilobyte (KB) first-level (16-KB data cache; 16-KB instruction cache) Level 2.
And 32mb video card integrated with motherboard
thats all i know about it.

My question is by looking at the pics i posted, am i able to add a new graphics card. And if possible what kind?

link to images:
http://www.fs2004.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=104722
__________________

dre2007 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 11:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Only PCI slots in there so you need a PCI video card.

IMO that system it not worth upgrading....best to start over with a new system...

if thats not an option:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814102447

but you wont see a huge performance increase cause the rest of your system will bottleneck any video card.
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 11:09 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 2
Default

what about ATI Radeon X1300 Pro PCI-Express 256MB Video Card
dre2007 is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 11:12 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Its NOT PCI-Express....IT'S PCI ....completely different....and 10 years technologically apart.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 11:14 AM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vaderpro

IMO that system it not worth upgrading....best to start over with a new system...

......but you wont see a huge performance increase cause the rest of your system will bottleneck any video card.
__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 12:00 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Ethereal_Dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 3,755
Send a message via AIM to Ethereal_Dragon Send a message via Yahoo to Ethereal_Dragon
Default

If you are wanting to upgrade the video card, I would guess it would be for low-mild gaming (about all that computer will support), you will get better results by saving up and building/buying an entirely new up-to-date system.
__________________
Gaming Laptop: - ASUS K501LX-EB71 - Stock (Wife's) - Gateway P-6860FX - Stock (Mine)
General Laptop: - Sony Vaio SVE141D1L - Stock (Mine)
Gaming Rig: BACK ONLINE!! ASUS Z87-PRO (V EDITION), Intel Core i5-4590 Haswell (Stock Cooling), HyperX FURY 8GB DDR3 1866,
XFX Radeon HD 4870, SILVERSTONE DA700, Samsung 840 500Gig SSD MZ-7TD500BW, 3x WD20EARS 2 TB Green,
ASUS DRW-2014L1T (DVD), LG WH14NS40 (Blu Ray), Dell 2709W, Sony SDM-HS95P, Windows 10 Pro
The NAS Box: OFFLINE D-Link DNS-323, 0.1RC3 Alt-F firmware, 2x 7200.14 ST3000DM001 3TB EXT4 - NO RAID - 6 TB
Home Server: BUILD LOG!! - Supermicro SC826TQ-R800LPB chassis, X8DTN+, Dual Xeon E5620 (Stock),
4x Nanya NT4GC72B4NA1NL-CG (24GB Reg ECC DDR3), 12x MICRON MT36JSZF51272PZ-1G4G1FG (48GB Reg ECC DDR3), (72GB total memory)
2x OCZ Agility (60GB) (OS & Backup), 6x WD40EFRX (4TB) in RaidZ2 (14.3 TB usable), 2x Q Series HDTS225XZSTA (256GB) ZIL & L2ARC mirrored

Ethereal_Dragon is offline  
Old 01-29-2007, 01:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 7,915
Send a message via Yahoo to talldude123
Default

If that was a Pentium 3 600 running Windows 98, than you would be in for a treat with gaming, but with a Celeron probably running XP...XP already bottlenecks it. Add gaming and you've got a fire..
__________________

talldude123 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.