Configuring Settings After Building - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > System Upgrades
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-20-2009, 11:53 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
for vista you can use sysprep as originally shown by trotter.
That's quite the convenient tool! So let me get this straight: I get my goodies in the mail to put together, I run the sysprep, shut my current (old) comp down, build my new rig, slide in the HD, boot it up, and it will take it from there?
__________________

Veregund is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 11:55 AM   #12 (permalink)
Equator Gringo
 
james.wired's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Panama
Posts: 2,318
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

Try Sysrep first as Hefe mentioned. It will be less bothersome and will make the transfer from one PC to another much easier on you, that way you won't have to deal with wiping all your data.
__________________

__________________

PII 940 :: 5870 :: Rage powered
james.wired is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 11:59 AM   #13 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

Quote:
Originally Posted by james.wired View Post
Try Sysrep first as Hefe mentioned. It will be less bothersome and will make the transfer from one PC to another much easier on you, that way you won't have to deal with wiping all your data.
Yep basically sysprep is designed for mass deployment of an os to many different machines with different configurations. You can install al the programs and whatever you need on a hard drive then run sysprep to remove all of the device drivers. Then you could clone a bunch of hard drives for installation on new machines. In your case it is just the one machine.

Keep in mind that you will need to install all the new drivers for your machine. I always do it in this order:

1 chipset
2 lan
3 check online for any windows updates if necessary
4 gpu
5 all other needed drivers in no specific order.

Have fun.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 12:05 PM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hefemeister View Post
Keep in mind that you will need to install all the new drivers for your machine. I always do it in this order:

1 chipset
2 lan
3 check online for any windows updates if necessary
4 gpu
5 all other needed drivers in no specific order.

Have fun.
Should i be installing these drivers before or after i install the HD in the new rig?
Veregund is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 12:10 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

after. it would mess up if you tried to install the new drivers while in the old computer.
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 12:16 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

ok great thanks alot
Veregund is offline  
Old 07-22-2009, 09:21 AM   #17 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 42
Default Re: Configuring Settings After Building

Bumping this up for the time being:

My new components should be coming in today, and I just want to make sure I have an OK plan.

Im using all new parts, aside from my current HD (with windows vista, drivers, and all other data already on it), which i plan to use in my new build. Hef suggested that I use the Sysprep tool on windows vista, and I just wanted to MAKE SURE that this will work, and is the best option - I have been doing some research online, and some people are saying that using an old HD with a new rig is possible, whereas some are saying its NOT possible.

So.. i just want to make sure this will work so i don't screw anything up.

The idea is that this Sysprep tool, when set to "shutdown mode," will clear all my current hardware drivers off of my hardrive, and shutdown my computer, leaving my harddrive clear of anything that will conflict with my NEW hardware build.

So my steps are: receive my new parts in the mail (woohoo!) > hop on my current computer > run Sysprep > let sysprep shutdown my current comp > take out the HD > build the new rig > slip in the "sysprepped" HD > boot up the new rig > presto? (then install new drivers, of course)

Is it that easy? And also, anything extra I need to knwo about running the sysprep tool? or will there just be onscreen instructions that will guide me through everything?

Thanks for your help guys.
__________________

Veregund is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Building System, Stuck on Motherboard etc. rocknje New Systems | Building and Buying 33 07-12-2009 08:32 PM
Is Apple Building a Search Engine? Osiris Apple and Mac 0 11-14-2008 12:25 PM
EP45-DS3R won't allow Q9450 overclock past 3.2GHz or retain manual voltage settings mikeynavy1976 Overclocking and Modding 24 08-20-2008 02:59 AM
Overclocking an Nvidia 8600GT GPU - Clock settings jmoussa87 Overclocking and Modding 14 08-17-2008 03:06 PM
Ideal settings for my LCD screen? Forcemaster Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 04-01-2007 06:01 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.